Guides: TOUR 335: Strategic Management: Find Resources by Sector

Sectors

At CapU, we think about tourism in eight sectors:

Accommodation
Adventure Tourism and Recreation
Attractions
Events and Conferences
Food and Beverage
Tourism Services
Transportation
Travel Trade

OR in five sectors as defined in NAICS:

Accommodations
Food and Beverage
Recreation and Entertainment
Travel Services
Transportation

This guide lists some of the main resources for each sector to get you started. Your instructor may provide you with some reports as well.

Accommodation

Hotel Association of Canada
Many of your instructors are HAC members - if you would like to access their reports, talk to your instructor
PwC US Hospitality & Leisure publications
PricewaterhouseCoopers is an international firm offering professional services, which include consulting on hospitality and leisure ventures
American Hotel & Lodging Association
Most of their publications are members-only, but they have a few reports and news items available freely
CBRE Canada Research Centre
Find commercial real estate prices and more. Registration is required, but free.
Travel British Columbia
BC Lodging and Campgrounds Association website.
Show full description...Hide full description...
Check out About>Membership>Industry Articles, Publications
Destination British Columbia
This website includes sections on tourism research, developing and implementing a tourism plan, marketing, and information on the tourism industry in BC.
Hospitality Trends
From their website, "Founded in 1998 by Thomas Wahl and initially focusing on the hotel industry, the Nevistas network has evolved into the leading online information and knowledge base for not only the hospitality industry, but also the all and many other channels."
Show full description...Hide full description...
Look at Market Reports tab
Hospitality Net
Hospitality Net is an online collection of news, events, jobs, market information, trends, and brands. It is part of Hsyndicate.
Show full description...Hide full description...
Look at Hot Topics, Markets, News
Canadian Camping and RV Council
From their website, "The Canadian Camping and RV Council (CCRVC) is a federation consisting of the Provincial Campground Owners’ Associations across Canada, the Canadian Recreational Vehicle Association and the Recreational Vehicle Dealers Association of Canada."
Camping & RV in BC
From the website, "The Camping and RVing British Columbia Coalition is a non-profit marketing entity created to raise awareness of the wide range of camping and recreational vehicle (RV) experiences across the province of British Columbia..."
Show full description...Hide full description...
Look at the Where to Camp map for potential competitors
HVS - Insights and Publications
From their website, "Since literally writing the book on how to value a hotel in 1980, HVS has evolved into the global professional services leader by continually providing our clients with unrivaled hospitality intelligence."
Horwath HTL
Free research publications from a global hotel, leisure and tourism consulting firm
STR Data Insights Blog
Some free research summaries from a global data analysis company serving the hospitality sector
Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport - Current Performance
Provincial data from Ontario on tourism performance

Adventure Tourism and Recreation

Travel British Columbia
BC Lodging and Campgrounds Association website.
Show full description...Hide full description...
Check out About>Membership>Industry Articles, Publications
Destination British Columbia
This website includes sections on tourism research, developing and implementing a tourism plan, marketing, and information on the tourism industry in BC.
BC Parks
From their website, "BC Parks is responsible for the designation, management and conservation of a system of ecological reserves, provincial parks, conservancies, protected areas and recreation areas located throughout the province. British Columbia’s parks and protected areas system contains nationally and internationally significant natural and cultural features and outdoor experiences."
Recreation Trails and Sites BC
This website features information from the Government of British Columbia on Recreation Sites and Trails in BC. It includes links to other outdoor recreation information, and links to government publications on this subject.
Freshwater Fisheries Society of BC
From their website, "The Freshwater Fisheries Society of BC is a private non-profit organization. Our mandate is to enhance and conserve BC’s freshwater fisheries for public benefit."
Show full description...Hide full description...
Look at the Where to Fish map
Parks Canada - National Parks
National Parks are representative natural areas of Canadian significance. Management plans are found under the sidebar title "Park Management" for each National Park. By law, these parks are protected for public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment, while being maintained in an unimpaired state for future generations.
Canadian Camping and RV Council
From their website, "The Canadian Camping and RV Council (CCRVC) is a federation consisting of the Provincial Campground Owners’ Associations across Canada, the Canadian Recreational Vehicle Association and the Recreational Vehicle Dealers Association of Canada."
Federation of Mountain Clubs of BC
From their website, "The Federation of Mountain Clubs of BC (FMCBC) is a democratic, grassroots organization dedicated to protecting and maintaining access to quality non-motorized backcountry recreation in British Columbia’s mountains and wilderness areas."
PADI
PADI is the Professional Association of Diving Instructors. From their website, "PADI is the world’s leading scuba diver training organization."
Dive Industry Association of BC
From their website, Dive Industry Association of British Columbia is "a non profit society providing a unified voice for the dive industry, and promoting scuba diving in beautiful British Columbia"
International Snowmobile Manufacturers Association (ISMA) - Snowmobiling stats
From their website, "The International Snowmobile Manufacturers Association (ISMA) is an organization representing the four snowmobile manufacturers. We coordinate committees within the industry to handle concerns such as snowmobile safety, the promotion of the lifestyle activity of snowmobiling, keeping accurate statistics, reporting the growth of the industry and the positive economic impact of snowmobiling throughout the world."
Western Canada Mountain Bike Tourism Association (MBTA)
From their website, "The Western Canada Mountain Bike Tourism Association (MBTA) was created to coordinate communities, resorts and industry partners and to pool resources in order to firstly help make mountain bike experiences sustainable at the local level and secondly more accessible to a variety of visitor markets."
Mountain Biking Economic Impact Study - Pemberton
Whistler Off Road Cycling Association (WORCA)
Check out the Local Resources, Whistler Riding Stats, News, and About sections, as well as the Economic Impact of Mountain Biking in Whistler 2016 report (http://www.worca.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/2016WhistlerMTB-EIS.pdf)

Attractions

Try searching geographically (e.g. city, province, region, country) as well as thematically (e.g. natural) or by type (e.g. zoos, theatres, waterfalls).

Destination British Columbia
This website includes sections on tourism research, developing and implementing a tourism plan, marketing, and information on the tourism industry in BC.
Destination Canada
This website contains research information on tourism in Canada, with sections on Statistics & Figures, Market Knowledge, Product Knowledge, Industry Research, and Trends & Outlook. Find this information under the Research tab on the homepage.
The CTC website also has three great tools you can use for business or marketing plans: 1) the Brand Toolkit, a guide to using Canada's tourism brand to strengthen your business; 2) Experience, a marketing tool kit to help tourism operators turn their products into experiences to meet the expectations of today's travellers, as well as offering information on travel trends, research, and best practices; and 3) EQ (Explorer Quotient), a tool that tourism operators can use to enrich their product positioning and, consequently, gain a competitive advantage.
Atlas Obscura
Atlas Obscura is a collaborative project that aims to "discover amazing, hidden spots, and share them with the world" (Atlas Obscura, About Us).

Events and Conferences

International Congress and Convention Association
From their website, "ICCA -the International Congress and Convention Association- is the global community and knowledge hub for the international association meetings industry."
Show full description...Hide full description...
Look under Knowledge for industry research
Professional Convention Management Association
From their website, "Professional Convention Management Association (PCMA) is the definitive authority in education, business networking and community engagement for leaders in the global meetings, convention and business events industry."
Show full description...Hide full description...
Look in Resources>Research
Meeting Professionals International
From their website, "Meeting Professionals International (MPI) is the largest meeting and event industry association worldwide."
Show full description...Hide full description...
Look under Research and Tools, and Publications
Convention Industry Council
From their website, "The Convention Industry Council's 33 member organizations represent over 103,500 individuals and 19,500 firms and properties involved in the meetings, conventions, and exhibitions industry."
Show full description...Hide full description...
Look under Research
Canadian Sport Tourism Alliance
From their website, "Created in November 2000 through a partnership with the Canadian Tourism Commission, CSTA has grown from 18 founding members to over 400 members including 142 municipalities, 200+ national and provincial sport organizations and a variety of product and service suppliers to the industry." Look in the Industry and Data Tools for some freely available resources.

Food and Beverage

Hospitality Net
Hospitality Net is an online collection of news, events, jobs, market information, trends, and brands. It is part of Hsyndicate.
Show full description...Hide full description...
Look at Hot Topics, Markets, News
Restaurants Canada
From their website, "Restaurants Canada is a national, not-for-profit association representing Canada’s diverse and dynamic restaurant and foodservice industry."
Canadian Association of Food Service Professionals
From their website, "CAFP is committed to personal and professional growth of its membership and building credibility for the foodservice industry through networking, education, and the provision of our professional designation."
Show full description...Hide full description...
Look in Webinars/Resources
Agriculture & AgriFood Canada: Agri-Food Trade Service
"Summaries of Canada's export and import trade highlights for agri-food and seafood, updated annually."
Food Service and Hospitality
From their website, "Foodservice and Hospitality magazine is the authoritative voice of Canada’s foodservice and hospitality industry."
Show full description...Hide full description...
Look in Features
Beer Canada
From their website, "BEER CANADA IS A VOLUNTARY trade association that advocates on behalf of its members, makers of Canada’s most popular adult beverage - BEER!"
Show full description...Hide full description...
Look under Statistics and Partnerships
World Wide Brewing Alliance
From their website, "The WBA was established in 2003 with the objective of disseminating and exchanging good practices and information on social responsibility, environmental sustainability and product integrity issues."
Canadian Vinters Association
From their website, "Canadian Vintners Association (CVA) is the national voice of wine in Canada, created in 1967 ... represents over 90% of all wine produced in Canada including 100% Canadian, Vintners Quality Alliance (VQA) wines and International-Canadian Blended (ICB) wine products." Check out their Info Centre tab for reports and statistics.
UBC - BC Wine Industry Research Guide
UBC Library has put together a great guide on BC wine industry research.

Tourism Services

World Travel & Tourism Council: Economic research
From their website, "The World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) was formed in 1991 by a group of Travel & Tourism CEOs who felt that the sector’s contribution to economies and job creation was not being recognised. Its objectives were to use empirical evidence to promote awareness of Travel & Tourism’s economic contribution; to expand markets in harmony with the environment; and to reduce barriers to growth."
World Travel & Tourism Council: Policy Research
From their website, "The World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) was formed in 1991 by a group of Travel & Tourism CEOs who felt that the sector’s contribution to economies and job creation was not being recognised. Its objectives were to use empirical evidence to promote awareness of Travel & Tourism’s economic contribution; to expand markets in harmony with the environment; and to reduce barriers to growth."
Hospitality Net
Hospitality Net is an online collection of news, events, jobs, market information, trends, and brands. It is part of Hsyndicate.
Show full description...Hide full description...
Look at Hot Topics, Markets, News
Go2 Human Resource Site
BC-specific. Look under Research for market analyses and studies
Destination BC
Destination Canada
This website contains research information on tourism in Canada, with sections on Statistics & Figures, Market Knowledge, Product Knowledge, Industry Research, and Trends & Outlook. Find this information under the Research tab on the homepage.
The CTC website also has three great tools you can use for business or marketing plans: 1) the Brand Toolkit, a guide to using Canada's tourism brand to strengthen your business; 2) Experience, a marketing tool kit to help tourism operators turn their products into experiences to meet the expectations of today's travellers, as well as offering information on travel trends, research, and best practices; and 3) EQ (Explorer Quotient), a tool that tourism operators can use to enrich their product positioning and, consequently, gain a competitive advantage.
Tourism Industry Association of British Columbia
Check out the Advocacy and Policy Development tab for research resources.
Tourism Industry Association of Canada
Young Travel Professionals - Vancouver
From their website, "The concept of YTP was born in March 2011 when two of the co-founders were traveling together on an educational (FAM) trip. They recognized that although there were many industry organizations none focused on the younger generation of travel & hospitality professionals and their career development." Check out the TravelFutureLab section.

Transportation

Try Googling your form of transportation (plane, train, automobile, etc.) with "association" to see if there's an industry group or network.

IATA
International Air Transport Association website
Aviation: Benefits Beyond Borders
From the website, "This website is an initiative of the commercial aviation industry, represented by the Geneva-based Air Transport Action Group."

TRID
Worldwide transportation research.
TRID is a database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centres International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide. Documents include technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles, with many links to full-text. Citations for theses and Environmental Impact Statements are also included.

Subject coverage spans planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors and operations for the modes of highways, transit, railroads, maritime and aviation. TRID does not contain information on vehicle standards and specifications, patent information, market research, military transport or news articles.

Canadian Transportation Research Forum
From their website, "The Canadian Transportation Research Forum has been operating since 1965. It is a non-profit association of transportation professionals..."
Show full description...Hide full description...
Look at News>Transportation Updates, and Research
Cruise Lines International Association: Research Center
From their website, "Established in 1975, Cruise Lines International Association (CLIA) is the world’s largest cruise industry trade association, providing a unified voice and leading authority of the global cruise community."
Port of Vancouver
From their website, "The Vancouver Fraser Port Authority is responsible for the stewardship of federal port lands in and around Vancouver, British Columbia."

Travel Trade

Association of Canadian Travel Agencies
From their website, "Established in 1977, the Association of Canadian Travel Agencies (ACTA), is a national trade association representing the retail travel sector of Canada's tourism industry. ACTA is an industry-led, non profit, membership based organization."
Travel Week
From their website, "Travelweek has been keeping travel agents up to date with the latest news for more than 40 years."
Tourism Industry Association of Canada
Innovation, Science, and Economic Development Canada
Go2 Human Resource Site
Proves employment information to existing employees that will help them develop their career in the tourism industry. Includes Tourism BC Media Site.
2019 Canadian Tourism Sector Compensation Study