Guides: TOUR 112: Marketing I: Home

TOUR 112 Research Guide

Market and marketing research can be tough - you'll often find that there isn't a perfect ready-made report for you, so you'll need to piece together information from a variety of sources (academic and popular) to answer the questions posed in your assignment.

This guide can point you towards some good places to start looking for research.

Search shortcuts for Tourism topics

The asterisk (*) is a wildcard symbol in the Discovery Search and other EBSCO databases (e.g. Hospitality & Tourism Complete, Business Source Ultimate). This is useful for capturing spelling variations and plural forms.

Examples:

tour* captures tour, tours, tourism, tourisms, tourist, tourists, touristic

motivat* captures motivate, motivates, motivation, motivations

wom*n captures singular and plural forms (woman and women)

neighbo*r captures Canadian (neighbour) and US (neighbor) spellings

However, hospital* does not work well to capture hospitality topics because it will also capture medical hospital and hospitals.

Best Bets

Don't have time to explore the entire guide? Try the Best Bets below.

Destination BC
Industry research specific to British Columbia. Research by region, market or activity. Includes travel motivations(TAMS) information.
Destination Canada
This website contains research information on tourism in Canada, with sections on Statistics & Figures, Market Knowledge, Product Knowledge, Industry Research, and Trends & Outlook. advantage.

UNWTO Elibrary
The United Nations World Tourism Association ELibrary contains books, journals, reports, and statistics related to international tourism. Special topics include ecotourism, sustainable development, market research, technologies, and tourism policies. Contents can be searched by country and by indicator.
Statistics Canada
Find and access Economic, social and census data with daily analysis of statistical releases from Statistics Canada.
Statistics Canada - Canada's central statistical agency - produces statistics that help Canadians better understand their country-its population, resources, economy, society, and culture.
Business Source Ultimate
Thousands of business journals, industry magazines, and industry & market reports.
Business Source Ultimate provides full-text access to a wide range of peer-reviewed journals, trade publications and general business magazines in addition to indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals. Additional content includes case studies, company profiles, industry reports, SWOT analyses, and market research reports.

APA Citations

Visit the CapU Library's APA citation guide for more information on citations:

APA Citation Guide (7th edition)