Guides: TOUR 112: Marketing I: Find Statistics

Find Statistics: On this page

City of Vancouver Free Data
Economic Indicators
Canadian Statistics and Reports Online
Canadian Tourism Industry Websites

City of Vancouver Free Data

City of Vancouver Open Data Catalogue
The City of Vancouver's "Open Data catalogue provides free and open access to over 145 City datasets and we add new datasets regularly."

Relevant datasets that are available in CSV/XLS formats:

Food vendors
Bike lanes
Community food markets and farmer's markets
Community gardens and food trees
Cultural spaces
Census area local profiles
Parks
Weekend playfield status

Economic Indicators

Economic factors heavily influence tourism and travel industries.The major banks provide some free online analysis. Search Business Source Complete or CBCA Reference for country reports on Canada or other nations available only to database subscribers.

Canadian Statistics and Reports Online

Statista
Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Charts can be downloaded in PNG, PowerPoint, Excel or PDF formats or embedded in web pages and can be great in papers or presentations.
Help videos and more details are available at: https://www.statista.com/statistic-portal/.

Census 2016 (Statistics Canada)
How many people live in Canada? Where do they live? How old are they? What languages do they speak? Check out the Census 2016 information on the Statistics Canada website if you're looking for demographic information for Canadians.
CANSIM
How much money do people make in Canada? How much do they spend? What do they spend it on? This resource provides socioeconomic data for Canadians.
- Video on How to Use the Data Tables
Statistics Canada
Statistics Canada allows you to access many statistics on travel and tourism in Canada, including information on domestic and international travel. Once you arrive at the home page, go to Browse By Subject and select Travel and Tourism. Look for links to Publications or Summary Tables to access data.
Statistics Canada: Travel and Tourism Data
Explore Statistics Canada data sets with information on both domestic and international tourism.

Vividata
Vividata allows users to customize their reports by demographics, attitudes, media consumption and profiling, retail outlets and product usage. The username and password are posted on your library account page (at the bottom).

By accessing and using Vividata you acknowledge and agree that you must:
- Not share any of its data or other contents publicly or with any other organizations or any individuals not affiliated with CapU.
- Must cite Vividata data and other contents appropriately, clearly acknowledging Vividata as the source, and
- Only use Vividata data for educational purposes.
- Not use CapU’s Vividata access for a paid or unpaid internship.
- Request explicit permission to use Vividata data for any research that is intended for publication. To acquire permission, please contact Vividata directly here (info@vividata.ca).

BC Stats: Tourism
Contains reports prepared by BC Stats on tourism in the province, including GDP, employment, industry size, revenues, and more.
Community Information Database
Interactive statistics gathering tool that allows you to see a snapshot of a community through its census data.
Mountain Math
MountainMath Software is Vancouver, BC based company specializing in data, analytics, modeling and visualization.

Canadian Tourism Industry Websites

Tourism Industry Association of Canada
Tourism Industry Association of British Columbia
Check out the Advocacy and Policy Development tab for research resources.
Tourism Vancouver
Market research for Vancouver
BCLaw - Travel Industry Regulations
Rules and laws governing travel agencies in BC, from the Business Practices and Consumer Protection Act.
Canadian Tourism Human Resource Council
Comprehensive database that promotes professionalism throughout the industry and addresses key labour market issues for Canadian tourism businesses, labour unions, associations, educators and government agencies.
Go2 Human Resource Site
Proves employment information to existing employees that will help them develop their career in the tourism industry. Includes Tourism BC Media Site.
Canadian Airports Council
Aviation industry reports and information.
Canadian Camping and RV Council
From their website, "The Canadian Camping and RV Council (CCRVC) is a federation consisting of the Provincial Campground Owners’ Associations across Canada, the Canadian Recreational Vehicle Association and the Recreational Vehicle Dealers Association of Canada."
Destination BC
Industry research specific to British Columbia. Research by region, market or activity. Includes travel motivations(TAMS) information.
Destination Canada
This website contains research information on tourism in Canada, with sections on Statistics & Figures, Market Knowledge, Product Knowledge, Industry Research, and Trends & Outlook. Find this information under the Research tab on the homepage.
The CTC website also has three great tools you can use for business or marketing plans: 1) the Brand Toolkit, a guide to using Canada's tourism brand to strengthen your business; 2) Experience, a marketing tool kit to help tourism operators turn their products into experiences to meet the expectations of today's travellers, as well as offering information on travel trends, research, and best practices; and 3) EQ (Explorer Quotient), a tool that tourism operators can use to enrich their product positioning and, consequently, gain a competitive advantage.