Tourism & Outdoor Recreation Management

The City of Vancouver's "Open Data catalogue provides free and open access to over 145 City datasets and we add new datasets regularly."

Includes tourism information about visitors to Vancouver (e.g. stats on air traffic and cruise ship data).

This POW Canada Outdoor Recreation Report represents a first-of-its-kind, Canadian report highlighting the importance of Outdoor Recreation.

A centralized, accessible, and secure national platform that will serve as a two-way street for accessing and sharing data within the tourism ecosystem.

This United Nations resource gathers together national and international data on trade and economics in over 190 countries.

Another product of the United Nations, UNData provides figures and reports on a wide variety of socio-economic factors for countries around the world. A great place to look for PESTLE data, you can search by keyword or browse through the available information.
Includes country profiles and the ability to browse by data set, source (UN agency), and topic.

A centralized, accessible, and secure national platform that will serve as a two-way street for accessing and sharing data within the tourism ecosystem.

How many people live in Canada? Where do they live? How old are they? What languages do they speak? Check out the Census 2021 information on the Statistics Canada website if you're looking for demographic information for Canadians.

Statistics Canada allows you to access many statistics on travel and tourism in Canada, including information on domestic and international travel. Once you arrive at the home page, go to Browse By Subject and select Travel and Tourism. Look for links to Publications or Summary Tables to access data.

How much money do people make in Canada? How much do they spend? What do they spend it on? This resource provides socioeconomic data for Canadians.
- Video on How to Use the Data Tables

Explore Statistics Canada data sets with information on both domestic and international tourism.

Contains reports prepared by BC Stats on tourism in the province, including GDP, employment, industry size, revenues, and more.

Interactive statistics gathering tool that allows you to see a snapshot of a community through its census data.

MountainMath Software is Vancouver, BC based company specializing in data, analytics, modeling and visualization.

A centralized, accessible, and secure national platform that will serve as a two-way street for accessing and sharing data within the tourism ecosystem.

Provides high-level strategic and overview documents on the tourism industry in Canada.

"The Canadian Chapter of TTRA is dedicated to individuals interested in advancing the quality and effectiveness of tourism research and marketing and fosters the value and use of research in the marketing, planning, and development of tourism in Canada."

This website contains research information on tourism in Canada, with sections on Statistics & Figures, Market Knowledge, Product Knowledge, Industry Research, and Trends & Outlook. Find this information under the Research tab on the homepage.
The CTC website also has three great tools you can use for business or marketing plans: 1) the Brand Toolkit, a guide to using Canada's tourism brand to strengthen your business; 2) Experience, a marketing tool kit to help tourism operators turn their products into experiences to meet the expectations of today's travellers, as well as offering information on travel trends, research, and best practices; and 3) EQ (Explorer Quotient), a tool that tourism operators can use to enrich their product positioning and, consequently, gain a competitive advantage.

Comprehensive database that promotes professionalism throughout the industry and addresses key labour market issues for Canadian tourism businesses, labour unions, associations, educators and government agencies.

Aviation industry reports and information.

National Parks are representative natural areas of Canadian significance. Management plans are found under the sidebar title "Park Management" for each National Park.

From their website, "The Canadian Camping and RV Council (CCRVC) is a federation consisting of the Provincial Campground Owners’ Associations across Canada, the Canadian Recreational Vehicle Association and the Recreational Vehicle Dealers Association of Canada."

Proves employment information to existing employees that will help them develop their career in the tourism industry. Includes Tourism BC Media Site.

Check out the Advocacy and Policy Development tab for research resources.

Industry research specific to British Columbia. Research by region, market or activity. Includes travel motivations(TAMS) information.

A sustainability program helping tourism businesses incorporate sustainability into their operations and create a positive impact on our communities, the environment, and their bottom line.

"A non-profit, Stakeholder-based organization committed to the continued growth of a sustainable, authentic and culturally rich Indigenous tourism industry in British Columbia."

Rules and laws governing travel agencies in BC, from the Business Practices and Consumer Protection Act.

Market research for Vancouver

A centralized, accessible, and secure national platform that will serve as a two-way street for accessing and sharing data within the tourism ecosystem.

Comprehensive site that includes information on the ecotourism industry such as market research and development reports, case studies and operator survey findings.

The primary functions of [US] OTTI are: management of the travel and tourism statistical system for assessing the economic contribution of the industry and providing the sole source for characteristic.

Provides a comprehensive listing of related organizations and resources that involve the planning, management, consulting and development of tourism on an international level.

Knowledge Networking Portal for Sustainable & Responsible Tourism

United Nations agency focussed on promotion of responsible, environmentally sustainable and universally accessible tourism. Stats under 'Resources and Data' tab.

A platform developed by UNWTO outlining the role of tourism in meeting the UN's 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and corresponding 169 SDG targets.

A web-based, bimonthly international research network for tourism professionals.

Reports on the economic and employment impact of Travel & Tourism for 185 countries/economies and 26 geographic or economic regions in the world.

The CIA World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Electronic equivalent to Fodor's guides. Provides general tourist information on accommodations, attractions and events on an international level. Includes an interactive personal trip planner.

Comprehensive tourist related website that provides country information on an international level such as environment, history, economy, culture, events, money & costs and attractions.