Guides: Tourism &amp; Outdoor Recreation Management: By analysis: PESTLE/TREES

Finding sources for PESTLE and TREES

PESTLE analyses look at the macro environment (i.e. the external environment that the business operates in)

Using the library, you will be able to find sources that address these factors - sometimes a source will address more than one factor since they are interdependent (i.e. technological changes can affect social factors).

Under each component of PESTLE, you'll find a list of relevant databases. Start at the top of the list and work your way down. The best places to start are:

Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism.
Contains more than 933,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 540 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books. Full-text periodicals include Asia Pacific Journal of Tourism Research, Current Issues in Tourism, International Journal of Tourism Research, Journal of Leisure Research, Journal of Sustainable Tourism, Leisure Sciences, Nation's Restaurant News, Restaurant Business, and many more. Sources are both domestic and international in range and scope, with material collected from countries and regions such as Canada, Australia, Europe and Asia.

IBISWorld Industry Reports
Access to Canada, US, and US specialized industry reports.These reports are updated annually and provide key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and historical performance, five-year forecasts on revenue, imports, exports, employment and other key statistics, major industry participants with market share and more.

Political

Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA)
Comprehensive coverage of Canadian topics, including business, politics, literature, history and news events.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) provides broad coverage from a Canadian perspective, including scholarly journals, dissertations, magazines, and wire services. Subject list spans agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and many more areas.
Canada Commons
A collection of publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups. Formerly known as desLibris or the Canadian Electronic Library (CEL).
The organizations included in this collection represent the leading edge of primary research and opinion in all areas of Canadian public policy. There are more than 20,000 titles in the current collection to date, and the service provides more than 3,000 additional current documents to subscribers each year.
GALLOPP
This portal provides one-stop access to more than 320,000 electronic provincial, territorial and federal government publications and legislative materials dating back to 1995.
Provided by the Association of Parliamentary Libraries in Canada (APLIC), the Government and Legislative Libraries Online Publications Portal (GALLOPP/PPGPE) allows users to search for documents by keyword or full‐text and then link to the electronic copies of the materials hosted by the collecting federal, provincial, or territorial government and legislature libraries.
UNESCO Documents and Publications
Search across UNESCO collections of documents, publications, speeches and more.
Simultaneous searching of: 1) UNESBIB: Bibliography of UNESCO documents, publications and Library collection (about 100,000 records) 2) UNESDOC: Database containing UNESCO "resolutions and decisions", "speeches," General Conference proceedings, and more.

Tourism HR Market - Labour Market Information
Find information on the labour market for Tourism. This site has also compiled information on the tourism labour market by federal riding.
UNWTO eLibrary
"The UNWTO Elibrary is an online service from the United Nations World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) with broad coverage of tourism and related subject areas including... ecotourism and sustainable development, tourism statistics, market research, innovation and new technologies and tourism policies."

Economic

Business Source Ultimate
Thousands of business journals, industry magazines, and industry & market reports.
Business Source Ultimate provides full-text access to a wide range of peer-reviewed journals, trade publications and general business magazines in addition to indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals. Additional content includes case studies, company profiles, industry reports, SWOT analyses, and market research reports.
Statistics Canada
Find and access Economic, social and census data with daily analysis of statistical releases from Statistics Canada.
Statistics Canada - Canada's central statistical agency - produces statistics that help Canadians better understand their country-its population, resources, economy, society, and culture.
CANSIM
Statistics Canada's key and freely accessible socioeconomic database.
UNdata This link opens in a new window
A compilation of United Nations and agency statistics, covering economic, social, financial and development topics.
A product of the United Nations, UNdata provides figures and reports on a wide variety of socio-economic factors for countries around the world, including agriculture, crime, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism. A great place to look for PESTLE data, you can search by keyword or browse through the available information.
World Bank Data
Statistics and articles on economic indicators for over 200 countries around the world.
At the World Bank, the Development Data Group coordinates statistical and data work and maintains a number of macro, financial and sector databases. These databases are used by teams to prepare Country Assistance Strategies, poverty assessments, research studies and other forms of economic and sector work. Working closely with the Bank’s regions and sectors, the group is guided by professional standards in the collection, compilation and dissemination of data to ensure that all data users can have confidence in the quality and integrity of the data produced.

World Travel & Tourism Council: Economic research
From their website, "The World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) was formed in 1991 by a group of Travel & Tourism CEOs who felt that the sector’s contribution to economies and job creation was not being recognised. Its objectives were to use empirical evidence to promote awareness of Travel & Tourism’s economic contribution; to expand markets in harmony with the environment; and to reduce barriers to growth."
Protect Our Winters (POW) Outdoor Recreation Economic Report 2024
This POW Canada Outdoor Recreation Report represents a first-of-its-kind, Canadian report highlighting the importance of Outdoor Recreation.
Go2 Human Resource Site
BC-specific. Look under Research for market analyses and studies

Social

Vividata
Vividata allows users to customize their reports by demographics, attitudes, media consumption and profiling, retail outlets and product usage. The username and password are posted on your library account page (at the bottom).

By accessing and using Vividata you acknowledge and agree that you must:
- Not share any of its data or other contents publicly or with any other organizations or any individuals not affiliated with CapU.
- Must cite Vividata data and other contents appropriately, clearly acknowledging Vividata as the source, and
- Only use Vividata data for educational purposes.
- Not use CapU’s Vividata access for a paid or unpaid internship.
- Request explicit permission to use Vividata data for any research that is intended for publication. To acquire permission, please contact Vividata directly here (info@vividata.ca).
Statistics Canada
Find and access Economic, social and census data with daily analysis of statistical releases from Statistics Canada.
Statistics Canada - Canada's central statistical agency - produces statistics that help Canadians better understand their country-its population, resources, economy, society, and culture.
CANSIM
Statistics Canada's key and freely accessible socioeconomic database.
BC Stats
Several economics, business, and demographic publications by BC Stats (the British Columbia Statistical Agency).

Ipsos: Innovation & Knowledge
Ipsos is a global market research firm. Some of their reports and data are freely available.
UNWTO eLibrary
"The UNWTO Elibrary is an online service from the United Nations World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) with broad coverage of tourism and related subject areas including... ecotourism and sustainable development, tourism statistics, market research, innovation and new technologies and tourism policies."

Technological

Business Source Ultimate
Thousands of business journals, industry magazines, and industry & market reports.
Business Source Ultimate provides full-text access to a wide range of peer-reviewed journals, trade publications and general business magazines in addition to indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals. Additional content includes case studies, company profiles, industry reports, SWOT analyses, and market research reports.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Indexing & abstracts for over 550 journals in the fields of communication, mass media studies, linguistics and film including full text for over 400 journals.
Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 550 journals in the field of communications, mass media, linguistics and film, with selected coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 650 titles. This database includes full text for nearly 400 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).

ComScore
From their website, "comScore, Inc. (NASDAQ: SCOR) is a leading cross-platform measurement company that precisely measures audiences, brands and consumer behavior everywhere."
Show full description...Hide full description...
Look in Insights for whitepapers and presentations
Pew Research Center
A non-partisan research organization that regularly publishes reports on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the U.S. and the world.

Legal / Regulatory

CanLII
Funded by Canada’s lawyers and notaries for the benefit of all, CanLII provides free access to consumer legal information - as well as legal commentaries - from federal, provincial and territorial jurisdictions on a single web site. The Law Society of Saskatchewan Library has created some useful CanLII training tutorials to use the database effectively
BC Laws
Every public Act, and every regulation of general public interest, currently in force in the province of British Columbia.
Note: On April 2, 2014, the Queen's Printer officially discontinued their website, QP LegalEze.

Environmental

GreenFILE
GreenFILE is a freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 612,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 9,100 records.
Public Library of Science (PLOS)
Open access journals in science and medicine.

UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
United Nations agency focussed on promotion of responsible, environmentally sustainable and universally accessible tourism. Stats under 'Resources and Data' tab.
Tourism for SDGS
A platform developed by UNWTO outlining the role of tourism in meeting the UN's 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and corresponding 169 SDG targets.
World Travel & Tourism Council: Policy Research
From their website, "The World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) was formed in 1991 by a group of Travel & Tourism CEOs who felt that the sector’s contribution to economies and job creation was not being recognised. Its objectives were to use empirical evidence to promote awareness of Travel & Tourism’s economic contribution; to expand markets in harmony with the environment; and to reduce barriers to growth."
Ecotourism Explorer
Comprehensive site that includes information on the ecotourism industry such as market research and development reports, case studies and operator survey findings.
Tourism 2030 - Destinet Services
Knowledge networking portal for sustainable & responsible tourism
BC Tourism Sustainability Network
A sustainability program helping tourism businesses incorporate sustainability into their operations and create a positive impact on our communities, the environment, and their bottom line.