Guides: Indigenous Resources: Residential Schools

Reading Lists focused on the Residential School System

A Comprehensive Reading List from the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation
Includes Educational Materials and is regularly updated.
Fiction Reading List from Capilano University's Centre for Teaching Excellence
Includes many works of Fiction that address the Residential School System in Canada
Non-fiction Reading List from Capilano University's Centre for Teaching Excellence
Excellent list with many books that address the Residential School System in Canada
A Reading List from the Legacy of Hope
Scroll down to the bottom of this page for reading materials for both children and adults.
Residential School Reading List from Capilano University Library
Includes memoirs, fiction, non-fiction and children's books
Residential Schools a Reading List: The Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada
Includes Schools Histories; Memoirs; Legacy and Reconciliation; Literature
Vancouver Public Library's Residential Schools Reading List
Includes book for adults, children and youth

Key Resources

Residential Schools of Canada - Map and Listing
This map, prepared by Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, indicates the location of residential schools identified by the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement.
Residential School & Historic Trauma Survivor Resources
Information intended to help victims of historic trauma and residential schools in Canada to find healing.
Indian Residential School History and Dialogue Centre
"The Indian Residential School History and Dialogue Centre (IRSHDC) at UBC provides access for former Indian Residential School students, their families, and communities to records of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (housed at the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation Archives). The IRSHDC will also provide information resources from partner institutions in support of education, public information, research, and dialogue about the Indian Residential School System and its legacies. The Centre will continually collect and integrate Survivor stories, records, information, and conversations about the residential school system into its collections from donors and institutional partners.
Residential School Records Resources - Library and Archives Canada
Includes a Research Guide on Conducting Research on Residential Schools and Bibliographies.

Residential Schools keyword searching

Keyword Searches using the Library's Search box

Try the following keywords:

"Residential schools" (this will give you the largest number of results)
"Boarding schools"
"Industrial schools"
You can also search using the specific name of a school. For names of schools see the List of Residential Schools in Canada.

Note: 1) You can use limiters to limit to books or media once you have done your search 2) You can add additional terms to your search, For example" "residential schools" "british columbia"