Guides: Indigenous Resources: Search the Library: Books, Articles and Film

Searching Techniques in Discovery

Keyword Searches

It is important to note that Capilano University, like the majority of University Libraries, uses the Library of Congress Classification system. This system is recognized as a product of colonial structures and some terminology can be problematic or offensive. Universities across Canada are excited by the work of CFLA Indigenous Matters Committee’s Red Team for Subject Headings and Classification, and Library and Archives Canada, both of whom are working to improve subject headings concerning Indigenous Peoples.

Below are some terms that are used to broadly identify Indigenous Peoples. You can use one term or a combination of terms using the word OR and AND to find materials on your topic. Note that you may find materials on specific nations as well. (i.e. Squamish)

For example: (Indigenous OR aboriginal OR "first nations") AND water

"First Nations"
Indigenous

Aboriginal
"Indians of North America"

Native
Inuit
Métis

Discovery Search - Capilano University Library

Best Databases for First Nations/ Indigenous Research

Informit Indigenous Collection
Informit Indigenous Collection covers both topical and historical issues within Indigenous studies. The multi-disciplinary and inter-disciplinary framework provides access to emergent and ground-breaking research within the global community and offers scope for critical international engagement and debate. With material from Australia, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, North America and the Pacific, this Collection is a platform for Indigenous worldviews.
I-Portal
The Indigenous Studies Portal (I-Portal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
This bibliographic database covers many topics pertaining to Indigenous peoples in North America, including culture, history and daily life. This resource is ideal for researching the contributions, struggles and issues surrounding North America's Indigenous peoples.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA)
Comprehensive coverage of Canadian topics, including business, politics, literature, history and news events.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) provides broad coverage from a Canadian perspective, including scholarly journals, dissertations, magazines, and wire services. Subject list spans agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and many more areas.
Canadian Major Dailies
Full text of articles in major Canadian newspapers covering from the 1980's to yesterday.
Calgary Herald Calgary, AB (Dec 7, 1988 - present) Edmonton Journal Edmonton, AB (Mar 10, 1989 - present) Financial Post Toronto, ON (Jan 5, 1985 - Oct 24, 1998) The Gazette Montreal, QC (Jan 2, 1985 - present) The Globe and Mail Toronto, ON (Nov 14, 1977 - present) Kingston Whig Standard - Kingston, ON (Jan 14, 1985 - May 31, 2006) Leader Post Regina, SK (Jan 1, 2000 - present) National Post Don Mills, ON (Oct 27, 1998 - present) The Ottawa Citizen Ottawa, ON (Sep 3, 1985 - present) The Province Vancouver, BC (Mar 20, 1989 - present) Star - Phoenix Saskatoon, SK (May 1, 1996 - present) Sudbury Star Sudbury, ON (Jul 8, 1999 - May 31, 2006) Telegraph-Journal St. John, NB(Jan 2, 1998 - present) Times - Colonist Victoria, BC (Jan 4, 1993 - present) Toronto Star Toronto, ON (Jan 2, 1987 - present) The Vancouver Sun Vancouver, BC (Jan 2, 1987 - present) The Windsor Star Windsor, ON (Oct 20, 1986 - present) Winnipeg Free Press Winnipeg, MB (Jan 2, 1982 - present) These publications are available citation-only: Daily News - Halifax, NS (Oct 22, 1990 - Apr 27, 2007) Guardian - Charlottetown, PEI (Mar 17, 1997 - Apr 27, 2007) Telegram - St. John's, NFLD (Apr 5, 1997 - Apr 27, 2007)
Native Health Databases
Contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
The Native Health Databases contain bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The databases provide information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples. Materials indexed: bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents from various sources. [Includes Canada]
Caninuit
"Most entries in the Caninuit database reference periodical publications which deal predominently with Canadian Inuit and their communities. Some entries describe library catalogues, indexes, bibliographies, and other sources of information about Inuit periodicals."
Indigenous Newspapers in North America
Indigenous Newspapers in North America aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016.
JSTOR
Searchable, archival collection of core scholarly arts, humanities, and social sciences journals.
Includes over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles.Note: In most cases 2-5 full years plus the current calendar year are excluded, except for selected titles from the Current Scholarship Collection.Capilano University Library subscribes to the following JSTOR collections: - Arts & Sciences I - Arts & Sciences II - Arts & Sciences III - Arts & Sciences IV - Arts & Sciences VIII - Select titles in current Scholarship Program
Points to the Past
Access to nearly 200 million pages of digitized historical content. Includes searchable primary source material: maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems, and more for research, teaching and learning from Gale Digital Collections.

Core Journals for Indigenous Studies

Films

Watch Indigenous Films@CapU
Add your own keywords to this "canned" search to find specific types of movies (comedy, drama), specific people or titles.
NFB Indigenous Cinema
A wide selection of films from the NFB archives that focus on Indigenous Peoples.

Can-Core
Canadian streaming educational and documentary film collection; includes Indigenous and BC content.
Streaming note: if sharing a Can-Core film during a live-streamed class, we recommend using Chrome, Edge, or Firefox as the browser, and Zoom as the meeting app. Teams will not work.