Guides: Music: Start Searching

Search Discovery

Discovery is the Library's one-search experience. Find articles, books, films, music and more!

Music Research Databases

Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online is the access point for Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference resources.

Limited simultaneous users. If you can't access the resource, try again later. Close the browser or log out when you're finished to allow others to get in.
In-depth and brief articles on all aspects of music. Includes links to related sites, including sound archives and illustrations.
JSTOR
Searchable, archival collection of core scholarly arts, humanities, and social sciences journals.
Includes over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles.Note: In most cases 2-5 full years plus the current calendar year are excluded, except for selected titles from the Current Scholarship Collection.Capilano University Library subscribes to the following JSTOR collections: - Arts & Sciences I - Arts & Sciences II - Arts & Sciences III - Arts & Sciences IV - Arts & Sciences VIII - Select titles in current Scholarship Program
Project MUSE
Peer-reviewed academic journals and electronic books on digital humanities and social science content from over 200 university presses and scholarly societies around the world.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary subject coverage from scholarly and popular sources.
Scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,600 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Google Scholar
Search specifically for scholarly literature. Save "Capilano University" under Settings > "Library links" to get full-text links to articles available through our subscriptions. You'll know which paywalled articles are available when you see CapU Connect to Full Text links on the right. Make sure to use that link to get access to the article.

Browse the Shelves

General materials on music are shelved in M. Here are the Music sub-sections:

M1-5000 Music

M5-1480 Instrumental Music
M1495-2199 Vocal Music

ML1-3930 Literature on music

ML159-3785 History and Criticism

MT1-960 Music Instruction
MT955-956 Musical theater
MT960 Music in the theater

Music

What does peer-reviewed mean?

Search Discovery

Music Research Databases

Browse the Shelves

Suggested Subject Searches