Guides: TOUR 225: Entrepreneurship in Tourism: Industry Research

Industry Research

IBISWorld Industry Reports
Access to Canada, US, and US specialized industry reports.These reports are updated annually and provide key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and historical performance, five-year forecasts on revenue, imports, exports, employment and other key statistics, major industry participants with market share and more.
Business Source Ultimate
Thousands of business journals, industry magazines, and industry & market reports.
Business Source Ultimate provides full-text access to a wide range of peer-reviewed journals, trade publications and general business magazines in addition to indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals. Additional content includes case studies, company profiles, industry reports, SWOT analyses, and market research reports.

Government of Canada: Tourism Overview
Provides industry profiles, analyses, and company information for the tourism industry in Canada.
Tourism Industry Association of Canada
Provides high-level strategic and overview documents on the tourism industry in Canada.
Destination Canada
This website contains research information on tourism in Canada, with sections on Statistics & Figures, Market Knowledge, Product Knowledge, Industry Research, and Trends & Outlook. Find this information under the Research tab on the homepage.
The CTC website also has three great tools you can use for business or marketing plans: 1) the Brand Toolkit, a guide to using Canada's tourism brand to strengthen your business; 2) Experience, a marketing tool kit to help tourism operators turn their products into experiences to meet the expectations of today's travellers, as well as offering information on travel trends, research, and best practices; and 3) EQ (Explorer Quotient), a tool that tourism operators can use to enrich their product positioning and, consequently, gain a competitive advantage.
Destination British Columbia
This website includes sections on tourism research, developing and implementing a tourism plan, marketing, and information on the tourism industry in BC.
HighBeam Business Reports
Includes industry profiles for many tourism-related sectors, with an American focus.