Presearch is the first step in the research process. You may revisit some of the steps a few times along the way to completing your assignment. So, getting to know a bit about a topic before you start your research is a wise move.
Watch the video below to learn more about how to pick your topic and begin your research.
Reference resources help you get started on a new topic, answer quick questions, and/or point you to further resources.
Examples of reference resources include:
Watch the video below on how to access reference materials from CapU Library.
Many students wonder if they have to cite dictionaries and encyclopedias in their assignments.
You must cite ALL sources that you reference in your work. This includes dictionaries and encyclopedias. This means when you:
you need to cite the dictionary or encyclopedia as you would any other source.
However, if you read a dictionary or encyclopedia as background, then do other research based on what you learned and never refer to the ideas you saw in those first resources, you don't have to cite the dictionary or encyclopedia.
Like all encyclopedias, Wikipedia is not a place to end your research, but it can be a good launching point from which to start. Wikipedia articles provide an overview of a topic which can which can help you find other more appropriate and citable resources.
Look for these things in a Wikipedia article:
But remember - this is a crowd-sourced resource. The information may not be accurate. Read the posted warnings and think critically about the information you find.