Below, you'll find quick links to sites you will use in the library workshop. You can refer back to this guide to review what was covered in class and learn additional search strategies!
AI: Digital Colonialism
AI is powered by data centres that are on stolen Indigenous land. Data sets used to create and train AI models contain stolen Indigenous data, knowledge, research, images and creative work. Animikii's ebook, linked below, is a counterpoint to AI hype and includes numerous criticisms of AI from an Indigenous perspective.
"Through this eBook, we hope to help you enter into healthy relationships with new digital technologies and mitigate the potential harms they may cause. Our focus for this eBook is understanding and assessing the current state of what the tech industry calls “Generative Artificial Intelligence.” How does it work? Does it even work?
We ground our analysis via the rights framework of the United Nations Declaration of Indigenous Peoples and the CARE principles of Indigenous Data Sovereignty to help you understand how to better protect Indigenous data.
Our eBook aims to help you see through the marketing to understand the technology that many are calling “Generative Artificial Intelligence.”" - description from website
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
CINAHL with Full Text, provides indexing for 2,719 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for 1,150 journals are also included. CINAHL with Full Text provides full text for 331 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1982 are also included.
MEDLINE with Full Text provides full text for select medical journals indexed in MEDLINE.
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine, Medline contains citations and abstracts to the worldwide biomedical and health literature, covering research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Medline with Full Text is a comprehensive source for full text medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in Medline. Of those, more than 1,340 have cover-to-cover indexing in Medline. This wide-ranging database contains full text for many of the most used journals in the Medline index - with no embargo.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 530 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus.
Access to nearly 900 full text biomedical journals.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive Edition provides access to nearly 900 full text journals, including full text for nearly 850 peer-reviewed publications. This database covers such disciplines as clinical medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the pre-clinical sciences. Full text publications available include: Journal of Family Practice, Journal of Bone & Joint Surgery, CMAJ, etc. Journals available in full text in this database are indexed in MEDLINE, providing PDF coverage back as far as 1960.
PubMed Central is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature. Journals in PubMed Central are full-text and free.
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLMs legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLMs extensive print journal collection. Launched in February 2000, PMC was developed and is managed by NLMs National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
The definitive database of scholarly articles and other sources used for research in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Contains abstracts and full text articles. Includes full text from PsycArticles.
PsycInfo is the American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages. Includes links to the full text of many articles.
Multidisciplinary subject coverage from scholarly and popular sources.
Scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,600 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
