Guides: Intersectionality & Social Justice : Home

Welcome

Welcome to Capilano University Library's research guide on Intersectionality and Social Justice. This is a living resource that will change as new resources are available, and is not an exhaustive list of social justice or anti-oppressive initiatives and resources. We invite you to be a part of this process by submitting comments, feedback, and suggestions for resources. Use the Feedback tab on the bottom left of this page to make your suggestions.

Thank you to the University of South Florida for permission to reuse aspects of their Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion guide

Databases

The databases below provide access to articles and other materials that could include information on intersectionality and social justice.

CINAHL Complete
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
CINAHL with Full Text, provides indexing for 2,719 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for 1,150 journals are also included. CINAHL with Full Text provides full text for 331 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1982 are also included.
Discovering American Women's History Online
Contains "digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States."
"Researchers can browse the database by subject (150+ entries), place (i.e., states), time period, and primary source type. By browsing through these lists of preconfigured searches, researchers not only gain a quick sense of the scope of the database, but may also discover topics (e.g., women engineers) and approaches to research (e.g., using scrapbooks as primary sources) that they had not considered. In addition, many users will be pleasantly surprised by the number of collections that document the history of women in their home state."
LGBTQ+ Life
LGBTQ+ Life is the definitive database for LGBT studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBT publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBT thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
MEDLINE with Full Text
MEDLINE with Full Text provides full text for select medical journals indexed in MEDLINE.
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine, Medline contains citations and abstracts to the worldwide biomedical and health literature, covering research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Medline with Full Text is a comprehensive source for full text medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in Medline. Of those, more than 1,340 have cover-to-cover indexing in Medline. This wide-ranging database contains full text for many of the most used journals in the Medline index - with no embargo.
Native Health Databases
Contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
The Native Health Databases contain bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The databases provide information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples. Materials indexed: bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents from various sources. [Includes Canada]
Native Health Databases
Contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
The Native Health Databases contain bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The databases provide information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples. Materials indexed: bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents from various sources. [Includes Canada]
SAGE Humanities and Social Science (HSS)
Full text access to hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences field.
The SAGE Humanities and Social Science (HSS) Package provides access to hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences fields, including leading international peer-reviewed titles.
Sociology Collection
The Sociology Collection provides access to the Sociological Abstracts in combination with other databases covering international literature in sociology and the social services. The Collection provides abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles from leading sociological journals. In addition it includes books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers.