Copyright

The copying and distribution of any material in the physical or digital classroom must meet certain conditions:

• Material from the Library's electronic resources can only be used according to licensing requirements.
• Any other material - print or digital - must meet copyright & fair dealing guidelines unless the content is not under copyright protection (e.g., public domain) or are openly licensed works (e.g., Open Educational Resources)

This page provides guidance on using copyright-protected content in:

• eLearn
• Coursepacks
• Handouts

The Media page provides guidance on using streaming media and DVDs in the classroom.

The FAQs page provides answers to some frequently asked questions about copyright in the classroom.

Material from print

Fair Dealing permits the scanning and posting of a single copy of a short excerpt from a copyright-protected work in an eLearn course.  All points in the guidelines must be met. Multiple chapters from different works cannot be assembled to replace a normal textbook purchase.

Material from licensed electronic resource

Some licences permit inclusion of material in secured course management systems such as eLearn.​ Check the Permitted Uses listed under each database in the Databases A-Z List for details. If unclear, please contact the Library's Copyright Team for support.

Links

Best practice is to link to material when possible. This includes to material available on the Internet and to material in licensed resources.

To learn how to create a persistent link to licensed material, see Link to the Library. For more assistance, contact your liaison librarian.

The Bookstore and Print Services can offer both print and digital coursepacks.

Material from print

 Fair Dealing permits a single copy of a short excerpt from a copyright-protected work be included in a coursepack. All points in the guidelines must be met. Multiple chapters from different works cannot be assembled to replace a normal textbook purchase.

Material from licensed electronic resource

Some licences permit inclusion of material in course packs.

Licence terms and conditions of electronic resources are available at the level of both title (e.g., International Journal of Tourism Research) and collection/database (e.g., Hospitality & Tourism Complete). Please contact the Library for further information.

Process

See Frontlines (intranet) Print Services page for additional information

• Submit coursepack requests to Print Services.
• Requests will be checked to ensure they meet licensing or fair dealing requirements
• If requests do not meet requirements, you will be contacted to discuss next steps.
• Next steps may include:
  • adjusting request to meet requirements (e.g., reducing the amount to be copied)
  • seeking permission from the copyright holder

Material from print

Fair dealing permits a single copy of a short excerpt from a copyright-protected work as a class handout. All points in the guidelines must be met. Multiple chapters from different works cannot be assembled to replace a normal textbook purchase.

Material from licensed electronic resource

Some licences permit handouts.

Licence terms and conditions of electronic resources are available via the Capilano University Library website at the level of both title (e.g. International Journal of Tourism Research) and collection/database (e.g. Hospitality & Tourism Complete). Please contact the Library for further information.