Guides: Legal Research: Search Deeper

Find Journals, Magazines and Newspapers by Title

Search or browse for journals, magazines and newspapers in the Library collection.

Websites

Canadian Legal Research & Writing Guide
Covers research essentials, electronic research, free internet legal sites, statutory research, and other jurisdictions.
Clicklaw
A BC site that provides legal education and help for the layperson.
Copyright Laws
Contains information about Canadian and international copyright law, digital property, media, and other intellectual property.
Show full description...Hide full description...
Intellectual property issues are now very current as digital technology makes copying and manipulating text and images so much easier. Leslie Harris is the author of "Canadian Copyright Law." Her web site contains information about Canadian and international copyright law, digital property, media, and other intellectual property issues of interest to anyone concerned with copying information available in print or digital media (multimedia, desktop publishing, animation, etc.).
Queen's University Library - Legal Research Manual
An excellent guide to every aspect of researching Canadian law. Topics include Steps in Legal Research, Case Law Research, Finding Federal Statutues and Regulations, Secondary Sources, and database research including Quicklaw and LawSource.
BC Courthouse Libraries
Provides legal information services. Website includes tutorials, advice, and links to resources.
Canadian Parliamentary Research Publications: A Research Guide
Staff of the Parliamentary Research Branch (PRB) of the Library of Parliament work exclusively for Parliament conducting research and providing analysis and policy advice to Members of the Senate and House of Commons and to parliamentary committees on a non-partisan and confidential basis. The documents provide background and analysis of issues that may arise in the course of their Parliamentary duties.

Justice Laws Website
The online source of the consolidated acts and regulations of Canada. The consolidations are generally updated on a weekly basis. As of 2009, these online sources are 'official'. Site includes constitutional documents.
LegisINFO
Essential tool for tracking progress of bills through parliament since 2002. Includes links to press releases, opposition reports, and articles about proposed legislation.
Legislative Summaries
From the Library of Parliament. Concise summaries and background info on proposed government legislation. Updated as the bills are revised during the legislative process.
Historical Debates of the Parliament of Canada
Searchable Hansard database, from 1867 up until coverage begins in the 'Parliamentary Business' site above.
Parliamentary Business
Parliament of Canada website with links to Hansards debates, Journals, Orders and Notice Papers, and other activities of the House of Commons.
OpenParliament.ca
Up-to-date, community-driven tool for tracking individual MP activities and voting records, topics being discussed in parliament, recent votes, and more.
Learn more about the Canada Gazette
The official newspaper of the Government of Canada since 1841, publishing new statutes, new and proposed regulations and various government and public notices.

Canada's Court System
Provides a general description of the court system in Canada.

Canadian Cases

Canada Industrial Relations Board - Decisions
Canadian International Trade Tribunal - Decisions
Canadian Human Rights Tribunal Decisions
Contains cases since 1979.
Competition Tribunal - Decisions
Selected cases since 1990.
Employment Insurance Jurisprudence Library
Access to over 60 years of CUBS, SCC and Federal Court decisions dealing with UI/EI matters.
Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada - Decisions
Decisions since 1991.
Public Service Labour Relations Board - Decisions
Contains decisions since 1996.

Chief Military Judge (CMJ) - Decisions
Decisions since 2004.
Court Martial Appeal Court of Canada (CMAC) - Decisions
Decisions since 1992.

Federal Courts Rules
Decisions
Federal Court decisions since 1990.
Federal Court of Appeal Decisions
Contains cases since 1988.
Federal Courts Reports
Contains all cases from print volumes since 1993.
Federal Judicial Affairs
An overview of the Federal Judicial Affairs role and activities in judicial affairs in Canada.

Supreme Court of Canada Acts and Rules
Case Information
Decisions
Select decisions by the Supreme Court since 1876.

Tax Court of Canada
Decisions from 1996 to present.