Staff Picks

Jessica's pick
If you’re having a bad day, need to destress, or want to procrastinate then read this book. There’s nothing more relaxing than a fat ginger cat in art.

Sabrina's pick
Although Zadie Smith is best known for her novels, she is also a talented essayist. This collection of essays provides a taste of her writing – lyrical, timely, incisive, and brilliant. She exposes the shock of Brexit, recounts her lunch with JayZ, proposes an imaginary dance-off between Prince and Michael Jackson, and talks about her writing and others’. This is not a book to rush through: it’s the kind of book that you pick up to read and savour each individual piece.

Dalene's pick
Who can resist touching felt? Many of us will remember a felt board with animal-shaped pieces that were used to tell a story, but if you delve inside the fuzzy slipcover you will discover the long and diverse history of felt, ranging from fashion “Felt apron with underpants,” to more practical uses such as covering yurts in Mongolia to regulate temperatures in summer and winter. If I am ever in Mouzon, France, I will stop in to visit the felt museum. Fun Fact: Castlegar, B.C. held the first international felt conference in North America.

Chelsea's pick
A personal yet level-headed book about the effects of alcohol in Aboriginal communities. Concise and eloquently presented, it will make you look at alcohol's lasting effect in a whole new light.

Dalene's pick
Chat with a brew master at one of the many local breweries around town and sound like you know what you are talking about! At the very least you can impress your friends with new words like Fobbing (excessive foaming of beer when it is poured), Dunkel (malty lager from Bavaria), and Hydrometer (measures the density of wort.)

Dalene's pick
Firoozeh Dumas was 7 years old when her family moved from oil rich Abadan, Iran to Newport Beach, California in 1972. She recounts her family's experiences with poignant descriptions and a wry sense of humour. Highly recommended!

Leanna's pick
This book challenges current conventions of what it means for a country to be developed or underdeveloped and what it means for a people to live well. The authors investigate and interrogate the international organizations and statistics used to measure the world’s development and “argue that it is possible for everyone on the planet to live well, but only if we learn to live as communities rather than as individuals and to nurture our respective commons” (book jacket). This is a valuable title for students interested in global studies, global stewardship, political science and economics.

Elizabeth's pick
Gender Failure is a collection of autobiographical essays written by Canadian authors/performers Ivan Coyote and Rae Spoon. It is a written account of their cross Canada performance and tour under the same name. Their essays address and explain their experiences being of transgender and failing to fit into the binary of gender. Both identifying as gender neutral, these stories are about their growth and acceptance of living outside of the restrictions of gender binary. Funny and heartbreaking, their stories are an eye opening experience.

Leanna's pick
I reconnected with the story of Kiidk'yaas – the golden Sitka spruce tree – after watching the film Hadwin’s Judgement at the VFF. The film is a retelling of Vaillant’s first book, The Golden Spruce. The book tells the story of the cutting down of the Golden Spruce by Grant Hadwin – a man who made his living in the forest, but was compelled to destroy one of Haida Gwaii’s most sacred trees, in response to the industrial destruction of old growth forests. Vaillant’s ability to intertwine meticulous research with amazing storytelling brings this complex time and event into focus for the reader, providing a greater understanding of the fate and future of Kiidk'yaas, the Haida and their home, and a world impacted by the clear cutting of North American forests and insatiable appetite for wood.

Trevor's pick
An intelligent and seminal book looking at what the soldiers during World War I experienced. From poems to diaries, Fussell provides one of the most insightful views into what happened during the war by the men who experienced it.

Trevor's pick
I always say that History is more fun with a pint, and this book looks at how all human civilizations have worked thanks to beer, wine, spirits, coffee, tea, and cola. So pour yourself a cold one, grab a deck chair, and relax this summer with a tall drink of history.

Michelle's pick
From the publisher: “From the first Chinese-American film produced in 1916, to Ang Lee’s triumphant Brokeback Mountain, Chinese actors, directors, and writers have contributed big achievements to the western film world. The book provides hundreds of valuable photographs, posters, and personal collections that detail many of the memorable moments of the Chinese in film. If you are interested in the history of Chinese films and movie stars in western films, please do not miss this resource.”

Michelle's pick
This book is not only for women. Everyone should read it! It is like a good friend who sits beside you and reminds you how important you are, just being exactly who you are. Moran discusses all kinds of subjects, including makeup, birth, motherhood, sex, love, work, misogyny, fear, and just how to feel in your own skin. Overall, this is what feminism needs right now.

Brook's pick
Rebecca Skloot weaves the life-story of a woman and her family with the incredible scientific breakthrough that was the result of her cells and makes the whole story fascinating and understandable, even to the unscientific mind. I couldn't put this book down.

Joshua's pick
I love fermentation and this book has a great section on the topic. It is also an introduction to anarchy philosophy and hands on techniques.

Tania's pick
Who doesn't love history? Who doesn't love infographics? Put them together and data about the past comes alive.

Trevor's pick
Wonderful book looking at not simply how technology works, but the content we encode in technology. From drums that carried messages to Turing and Weaver, this is a fascinating look at how we push information into a world beyond ourselves.

Sabrina's pick
Deep. Dark. Cold. Terrifying. Into the Planet is not a horror movie, but Jill Heinerth’s cave diving memoir is not for the faint of heart.

Michael's pick
I'm generally not that big on biographies. That said, this one is very good, providing a good look at what Tolkien was like. The thing that struck me the most about it was how normal he was. (Well, apart from the fact he was ultra nerdy when it came to languages … he was fluent in something like 12 or 13, and familiar to varying degrees with another 9 or 10…)

Michelle's pick
Everyone knows Japan and China went through a painful history in the 1930s & 1940s. Since then, the two countries have been struggling with their relations, politics, economics, militaries, and other aspects, especially after the People’s Republic of China was established in 1949. The book has tremendous citations and indexes for people to review and track their research on the subject.

Leanna's pick
Attention lovers of all things Buffy, Angel, and Firefly! This collection of essays takes a look at the religious themes in screenwriter Joss Whedon’s creations. “The book addresses such topics as ethics, racism, feminism, politics, witchcraft, spiritual transformation, identity, community heroism, apocalypse and other theologically significant themes” (from book cover). A must for Whedon fans and aficionados.

Dalene's pick
Ever wondered what the day to day life of a Geobiologist is like? Hope Jahren has had an exceptional career as a scientist, the stories she shares are funny, shocking and at times terrifying. The sections where she writes about specific plants are brilliant!

Michael's pick
Winner of the Pulitzer Prize in 1994, this book offers a detailed look at the collapse of the Soviet Union, and is written from the interesting perspective of a Westerner who actually lived there at the time as a news correspondent. A must-read for anyone interested in the history of the U.S.S.R.

Tania's pick
Glimpse behind the scenes in the life of one of the 20th century's most brilliant, funniest and oddest showmen. The history of Broadway, musical theatre, American music and LGBTQ lives is wrapped up in this one enigmatic icon. “A trip to the moon on gossamer wings, Just One Of Those Things…”

Maryann's pick
The Life You Can Save helped me think more clearly about charity in many communities. Charity and giving and politics and caring seem sort of mixed up and this is a good book for sorting things out and building your own opinion.

Sabrina's pick
Lion is the story of Saroo Brierley, who fell asleep on a train as a young boy in India and ended up being adopted by a family in Tasmania. As an adult, Saroo painstakingly matched landmarks from his memories to images from Google Earth in order to find his way home to "Ginestlay." Lion was recently made into an Academy Award-nominated movie starring Dev Patel, Rooney Mara, David Wenham, and Nicole Kidman. It is a quick, heart-warming read, perfect for a rainy day.

Leanna's pick
How does news reach us and the citizens in the transforming countries? What is the media’s role in global democratization and how do media themselves move from propaganda to information delivery and to an institution of accountability? These questions and more are investigated by Voltmer, whose book “takes a global view by exploring the interplay of political and media transitions in different pathways of democratization that have taken place in Eastern Europe, Latin America, Africa and Asia” (book jacket). This book will be of interest to Communication and Media Studies students and current events followers.

Elizabeth's pick
From the book: “milk and honey is a collection of poetry about
love / loss
trauma / abuse
healing / and femininity”

Alyssa's pick
A deeply personal look at the impacts of colonialism and its ongoing effects on the life of one Haudenosaunee woman.

Dalene's pick
The next best thing to drinking cocktails is talking about cocktails! Plenty of trivia and classic recipes!! Mint Julep, anyone?

Tania's pick
Accessible and lively new biography of the tragic Renaissance queen.

Michael's pick
While the author of this book doesn't always take the most favorable view of Napoleon (for example, he ascribes many of his victories to blind luck … yeah, right), it is nonetheless a compelling read. The biggest reason for this is the author's assertion that Napoleon was, indeed, poisoned – but not by the British. (If you want to find out who the author believes murdered the Emperor of the French, you'll have to read the book!) Whether or not you believe his theory, it is a fascinating look at Napoleon's life.

Trevor's pick
One of my top 5 favourite books. Before Coco the Gorilla there was Washoe and Dr. Fouts. Fouts was a young graduate student unexpectedly working on a groundbreaking new study: teaching Chimpanzees to use American Sign Language. Next of Kin details the lives of Fouts and Washoe, the first non-human to communicate with people. From his life as a graduate student, to becoming a passionate animal rights advocate, this is one of the most amazing stories. I eagerly push this book on all my family and friends. Dare ya not to love it!

Brook's pick
This an amazing story about a young girl raised in a crazy, counter-culture family who lived off the land. When she realized all of that wasn't normal, she strove to find a way out and search for her own sense of normal. This story is about how she went from a tipi in the wilderness and eating bug stew and bear meat to how she navigated her way on her own to become an international model by the time she was 13. It's an amazing story and a quick read. You'll love it!

Dalene's pick
There is so much more to beards than just hipsters. Consider: The Medical Beard. The Feminine Beard. The Religious Beard. The Gay Beard. The Regulated Beard.
Who knows, maybe you will grow one of your very own.

Leanna's pick
Award-winning and veteran war reporter Marie Colvin was killed in 2012 in Syria. Her legacy lives on in her work, including this collection that spans about 20 years of Colvin’s work, reporting for the Sunday Times. From Libya to Kosovo and Zimbabwe to Sri Lanka, Colvin reported from the frontlines, providing the world with accounts of events that have shaped history – and our future.

Michael's pick
Part autobiography and part writer's guide, Stephen King's On Writing is a book any aspiring writer or King fan should read.

Michelle's pick
Nowadays China has become very open and innovative in many areas, but digital censorship is still an issue. Many "Chinese activists are building an quiet coalition to bring incremental progress to their society." (from book cover) Jing Wang uses a lot of first-hand experience and rich data to explore NGOs that use China’s hyperactive media tools to engage in contemporary social life and politics. This book is a great resource to study the new generation and new technologies in a fast-growing country.

Tania's pick
Paris of the early 20th century became a haven for black musicians looking to escape the crushing culture of segregation and American race relations. Finding a knowledgeable and appreciative audience as well as some breathing room to be human, these scions of jazz made great strides in the development of their art thousands of miles away from the USA. Paris Blues explores the historical scene while Half-Blood Blues takes a fictional stroll down similar streets.

Tania's pick
What's your favourite Coen Bros. movie? They did again recently with their finely-tuned, atmospheric look at the 1960's New York folk scene, Inside Llewyn Davis. This essay collection tackles their ouevre film by film with provocative and insightful analysis.

Dalene's pick
Forgiveness is a prominent theme in Wab Kinew's memoir. In his words, “To be hurt, yet forgive. To do wrong, but forgive yourself. To depart from this world leaving only love. This is the reason you walk.” He hosted the CBC documentary 8th Fire series and is an Honourary Witness for the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada.

Jessica's pick
Do you ever dream of making secret plans? Wanting to challenge the status quo? Maybe being part of the Trump resistance? If the answer is yes to any of these questions, Recipes for Disaster: An Anarchist Cookbook is for you.
P.S. As the authors quote in this book, I also have never “engaged in any of the dumb and dangerous activities described herein.” Only dreamt of it.

Michael's pick
Don't get put off by the thickness: this is the definitive work on the history of Nazi Germany. Author William Shirer had unprecedented access to the meticulous records the Nazis kept (what is it about dictatorships that they feel the need to document everything?) and was able to provide an in-depth look at the Third Reich that none have been able to equal.

Dalene's pick
Ever wondered what it might be like to be that other gender? Norah Vincent spent a whole year disguised as a man and what she discovered might surprise you.

Jessica's pick
The Serpent and the Rainbow details Canadian ethnobotanist Wade Davis's extraordinary discovery explaining the preparation and application of the zombie potion. What begins as a scientific investigation rising from the societal reemergence of two living Haitians formerly declared dead and buried, transcends into a journey rich in secret societies, astonishing rituals, and vibrant traditions. As Davis unravels the secrets of the zombie formula he elucidates the mystery and beauty of Haitian culture and spiritualism. Finishing this book I felt for Haiti a new understanding and admiration that I doubt I would have discovered had I not read Davis's remarkable adventure.

Jessica's pick
Shake Hands with the Devil is a haunting story beautifully composed by the United Nations Peacekeeping Force Commander Lieutenant-General Roméo Dallaire. He accounts firsthand the events leading up to and during the Rwandan 1994 genocide.
Abandoned by the world powers, and crippled by ineffective UN mandates, Dallaire highlights the heroism and sacrifices of the Rwandan people and his meager UN peacekeeping force. Dallaire reveals that the tragedy which stole over 800,000 Rwandan lives was not inevitable, but easily avertible if only the world cared enough to stop it. This is a highly rewarding read despite its bleak content.

Elizabeth's pick
Lindy West is a hilarious and sharp writer/performer. I had heard her on a couple different podcasts before reading this book and enjoyed listening to her witty and informed advocacy of self- acceptance, fat acceptance, and gender dynamics inside and outside the comedy world. In this memoir she mixes social and political observations with personal narrative. While she doesn't make any ground breaking statements, her writing is succinct and approachable to a broad audience. This book pairs well with episode 589 of This American Life.

Trevor's pick
“Welcome to the desert of the real….” words spoken by Morpheus in The Matrix, but actually written by Baudrillard in 1981. His work on hyperreality becomes more relevant every single day. He was one of France’s foremost post-modernist thinkers and this book explains so much of our world.

Dalene's pick
Octopus have eight legs which already makes them pretty cool, but they also have blue blood and three hearts! What captured my interest most was the stories about how intelligent they are and their interactions with humans. After reading this book you will never look at an octopus the same way again.

Dalene's pick
It is unlikely that I will ever be a fluent speaker of the Squamish language, but learning a few words is on my bucket list. Huy chexw (Thank You).

Grace's pick
Gibb is an Oxford scholar who examines her life with a microscope in order to understand her own depression, the mental illness of her father, and the profound impact of growing up in a family where there are no stories told and where much is hidden. As an adult she creates her own ‘family’, community, and an understanding of how happiness might be possible. This book is thought provoking and despite the content, quite optimistic.

Michelle's pick
The first detective assigned to the case of serial killer Robert Pickton, Mr. Shenher talks about his gender journey in his autobiography. As with people struggling with similar experiences, he has been through a lot of changes in his body and life. With his personal stories in the book, the author leads us through one of the most important decisions he will ever make.

Michelle's pick
Absolutely a jewelry lover’s must-read book! Over a hundred hand-made stunning crafts are discussed, including bracelets, rings, and pendants show the fascinating stories and techniques from talented artists. It is also a great resource to understand Indigenous culture from the Pacific Northwest Coast. Don’t miss it!

Michelle's pick
If you are a newcomer or you haven’t noticed the big changes in last twenty years even though you are a local resident in Vancouver, this book is a perfect overall introduction about Vancouver’s changes including urban design, diversity, transportation, environment, public and private collaborations, etc. The book also has a lot of professional photos to show you visually about this beautiful international city. Grasp this book and enjoy reading!

Jessica's pick
Wade Davis's The Wayfinders, a 2009 collection of the CBC Massey Lectures, eloquently and respectfully celebrates the diversity of human culture while examining what it means to be “human and alive.” Davis stresses the uniqueness and fragility of the human “ethnosphere” and urges modernity through examples of ancient wisdom and traditions to listen rather than dismiss “other ways of orienting human beings in social, spiritual, and ecological space.” The Wayfinders realizes the vulnerability of the human legacy, but more importantly gives us hope that if we listen we can change.

Maryann's pick
The Wayfinders is a great piece for me and something I think of often as a DISCOVERY and Access librarian. I try to constantly remind myself of the power in the practices of indigenous systems of knowledge and not just get stuck in the dominant cultures of knowledge that libraries – especially – must navigate. My favorite part of this book covers the contrast to the navigation skills and approaches of south sea islanders in open water over the shore hugging and map reliant style of European countries in their “ages of exploration.”

Tania's pick
The blurb says "Inspired by the critically acclaimed Netflix documentary" but any bio of this fabulous musical talent is inspired by the genius herself. Read about the incomparable Nina Simone here, then check out her live performance on our DVD, Nina Simone: Live in '65 & '68.

Sabrina's pick
When you know that a book ends with the author's death, it can be hard to form an attachment. Not in the case of When Breath Becomes Air. In the span of 225 pages, readers join Paul Kalanithi as he reflects on his life, from his childhood in Arizona, through medical school, as he pushes his limits as a neurosurgery resident, and finally his losing battle with cancer. His lyrical writing and storytelling voice make this book an unforgettable and heartbreaking read. Read with a box of tissues.

Dalene's pick
Camping is Canada's national pastime! Find out why “I Hate White Rabbits” works, etiquette for skinny dipping, and how to make the perfect bush martini! Kevin Callan also has an informative section on cool camp gadgets like how to make a beer can camp stove. There is also another book by him in the collection called The Happy Camper: An Essential Guide to Life Outdoors.

Dalene's pick
You may not know Robert Ingpen by name, but you will likely recognize his work. Take a look!