For a brief introduction to BC governance, look under headings such as Legislative Assembly, Cabinet and Premier.
KnowBC was launched in 2001 as the online edition of Harbour Publishing’s Encyclopedia of British Columbia. The encyclopedia remains the cornerstone of KnowBC, but there is much more on the site today. This new version of KnowBC represents a comprehensive redevelopment that will consolidate KnowBC’s standing as British Columbia’s leading general reference site. The original hard-coded pages were replaced by a state-of-the-art Content Management System (CMS) that will allow enhancements and additions to occur more readily than in the past.
Use Advanced Search and limit by collection 'BC Government Publications'.
The Legislative Library now creates PDFs of many BC gov't publications which are available through the catalogue, ie, "Select Standing Committee on Agriculture and Fisheries".
A collection of publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups. Formerly known as desLibris or the Canadian Electronic Library (CEL).
The organizations included in this collection represent the leading edge of primary research and opinion in all areas of Canadian public policy. There are more than 20,000 titles in the current collection to date, and the service provides more than 3,000 additional current documents to subscribers each year.
Provides current British Columbia legislation from official sources. This includes statutes, regulations and related information, such as Third Reading Bills, Gazette Part II and Hansard. Replaces QP LegalEze.
Access to information
Some government information may not be made readily-available to the public, but can be requested under the terms of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FOIPPA).
The system used to classify, file, retrieve and dispose of the administrative records of the Government of British Columbia. Useful when preparing Freedom of Information (FOI) requests.
