When searching in a database, use the limiters on the left-hand side of your search results to further narrow your results.
Assignment Overview
Your Article Review assignment asks you to find a current article and write a review. Use the links on this page to find a relevant tourism article. The other pages on the TOUR 111 guide will help you find additional information and other sources to help write your review.
Tips for Searching Library Databases
Searching in a library database is very different than searching in Google.
Visit the Search Strategies page of this guide for tips searching library databases:
Scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism.
Contains more than 933,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 540 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books. Full-text periodicals include Asia Pacific Journal of Tourism Research, Current Issues in Tourism, International Journal of Tourism Research, Journal of Leisure Research, Journal of Sustainable Tourism, Leisure Sciences, Nation's Restaurant News, Restaurant Business, and many more. Sources are both domestic and international in range and scope, with material collected from countries and regions such as Canada, Australia, Europe and Asia.
Thousands of business journals, industry magazines, and industry & market reports.
Business Source Ultimate provides full-text access to a wide range of peer-reviewed journals, trade publications and general business magazines in addition to indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals. Additional content includes case studies, company profiles, industry reports, SWOT analyses, and market research reports.
Newspaper Articles
Your assignment lists a few good websites for finding tourism articles. Below are a few more places to check:
Full text of articles in major Canadian newspapers covering from the 1980's to yesterday.
Calgary Herald Calgary, AB (Dec 7, 1988 - present) Edmonton Journal Edmonton, AB (Mar 10, 1989 - present) Financial Post Toronto, ON (Jan 5, 1985 - Oct 24, 1998) The Gazette Montreal, QC (Jan 2, 1985 - present) The Globe and Mail Toronto, ON (Nov 14, 1977 - present) Kingston Whig Standard - Kingston, ON (Jan 14, 1985 - May 31, 2006) Leader Post Regina, SK (Jan 1, 2000 - present) National Post Don Mills, ON (Oct 27, 1998 - present) The Ottawa Citizen Ottawa, ON (Sep 3, 1985 - present) The Province Vancouver, BC (Mar 20, 1989 - present) Star - Phoenix Saskatoon, SK (May 1, 1996 - present) Sudbury Star Sudbury, ON (Jul 8, 1999 - May 31, 2006) Telegraph-Journal St. John, NB(Jan 2, 1998 - present) Times - Colonist Victoria, BC (Jan 4, 1993 - present) Toronto Star Toronto, ON (Jan 2, 1987 - present) The Vancouver Sun Vancouver, BC (Jan 2, 1987 - present) The Windsor Star Windsor, ON (Oct 20, 1986 - present) Winnipeg Free Press Winnipeg, MB (Jan 2, 1982 - present) These publications are available citation-only: Daily News - Halifax, NS (Oct 22, 1990 - Apr 27, 2007) Guardian - Charlottetown, PEI (Mar 17, 1997 - Apr 27, 2007) Telegram - St. John's, NFLD (Apr 5, 1997 - Apr 27, 2007)
