Skip to main content

Human Kinetics: Start Your Assignment

Welcome to the guide for Human Kinetics from your library.

New Titles in the Library

Browse the Shelves

Books and DVDs are shelved in the following classification areas:

GV 706.4  Sport Psychology

QP 301  Exercise Physiology

QP 303  Kinesiology

QP 303  Human Mechanics

RA 781  Physical Fitness

RC 1200 - 1210  Sports Medicine

RC 1235  Sport Physiology 

Credo Reference Topic Page - Human Body

Credo Reference has created a topic page for the human body. On this topic page, you'll find a collection of articles and entries from their reference texts as well as searches in the Library catalogue and relevant databases.

Human Kinetics and Kinesiology Resources

This library collects material for Human Kinetics topics in print books, ebooks, periodical databases and more.  Visit the library in person or online for titles to support research tasks and overall learning in your discipline.

The human body in the news

Subject Guide

Jocelyn Hallman's picture
Jocelyn Hallman
Contact:
604-986-1911 ext.2108

How to Start Your Research Assignment

What do you have to do to successfully complete this assignment? How long will each step take you?

Make a list of the tasks you need to accomplish. Set a schedule to finish each task. Put the schedule into your calendar.

Is your topic the right size? Most students choose a topic that is too large. Doing some presearch on your topic can help you get the big picture and understand what narrower topics are available.

Reference resources help you get started on a new topic, answer quick questions, and/or point you to further resources. Examples of reference resources include:
Almanacs - Atlases - Dictionaries - Encyclopedias - Handbooks - Indexes - Thesauri

Wikipedia is a crowd-sourced encyclopedia. Credo Reference is a collection of all of the above.

What questions will you need to answer to write about your topic? What information will you need to find to support your argument?

Make a list to help guide your research.

 

It's true - keywords are the key to success when it comes to research. Generating a list of keywords before you start searching - and adding to the list as you go - will make you an efficient, effective searcher. If you can't find what your looking for, it's probably due to bad keywords. 

  1. Write down your topic.
  2. Identify which of the words you've written can be used as keywords. Hint: pick only ones with meaning directly connected to your topic. Ex. Are safe-injection sites good for Vancouver
  3. Brainstorm synonyms, broader & narrower and related words. Ex. safe-injection sites = Insite, needle exchanges; Vancouver = Lower Mainland, Canada, BC, British Columbia, Fraser Health

 

What kind of resources are you able to use for this assignment?  Where can you find these kinds of resources?

  • academic vs popular
  • primary vs secondary
  • media 
  • reports and data
Loading ...