Repository for public domain media, including impressive archive of copyright-free and creative commons motion pictures. Hollywood and US Government content, as well as independent and amateur films, available for download (multiple formats) and streaming.
From Choice, "The portal to Europe's cultural and scientific history, the European Film Gateway (EFG) provides access to a large collection of historical film documents, mainly from European film archives. Currently the database contains over 550,000 items, nearly all of which are images, though it includes 26,000-plus videos and 10,000-plus texts."
The 15 contributing partner institutions include film institutes and archives in France, Germany, Denmark, Greece, the Czech Republic, and Lithuania, among others; noncontributing partners include the Europeana Foundation and film associations across Europe. Holdings can be searched in both the EFG and Europeana sites.
Created by the Museum of the Moving Image, Moving Image Source is a website devoted to the history of film, television, and digital media. It features original articles by leading critics, authors, and scholars; a calendar that highlights major retrospectives, festivals, and gallery exhibitions at venues around the world; and a regularly updated guide to online research resources.
Extensive old Hollywood collection including many Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences documents. Oscar photos, lobby cards, posters, letters and other key resources for the classic American moviemaking industry
Contains more than 5000 items, including correspondence, photographs, early release fliers, full issues of rare periodicals, sheet music, lobby cards and movie star ephemera. The database also includes complete copies of more than 450 Academy publications, dating back to the founding of the organization in 1927.