Comprehensive coverage of Canadian topics, including business, politics, literature, history and news events.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) provides broad coverage from a Canadian perspective, including scholarly journals, dissertations, magazines, and wire services. Subject list spans agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and many more areas.
Full text of articles in major Canadian newspapers covering from the 1980's to yesterday.
Calgary Herald Calgary, AB (Dec 7, 1988 - present) Edmonton Journal Edmonton, AB (Mar 10, 1989 - present) Financial Post Toronto, ON (Jan 5, 1985 - Oct 24, 1998) The Gazette Montreal, QC (Jan 2, 1985 - present) The Globe and Mail Toronto, ON (Nov 14, 1977 - present) Kingston Whig Standard - Kingston, ON (Jan 14, 1985 - May 31, 2006) Leader Post Regina, SK (Jan 1, 2000 - present) National Post Don Mills, ON (Oct 27, 1998 - present) The Ottawa Citizen Ottawa, ON (Sep 3, 1985 - present) The Province Vancouver, BC (Mar 20, 1989 - present) Star - Phoenix Saskatoon, SK (May 1, 1996 - present) Sudbury Star Sudbury, ON (Jul 8, 1999 - May 31, 2006) Telegraph-Journal St. John, NB(Jan 2, 1998 - present) Times - Colonist Victoria, BC (Jan 4, 1993 - present) Toronto Star Toronto, ON (Jan 2, 1987 - present) The Vancouver Sun Vancouver, BC (Jan 2, 1987 - present) The Windsor Star Windsor, ON (Oct 20, 1986 - present) Winnipeg Free Press Winnipeg, MB (Jan 2, 1982 - present) These publications are available citation-only: Daily News - Halifax, NS (Oct 22, 1990 - Apr 27, 2007) Guardian - Charlottetown, PEI (Mar 17, 1997 - Apr 27, 2007) Telegram - St. John's, NFLD (Apr 5, 1997 - Apr 27, 2007)
Canadian streaming educational and documentary film collection; includes Indigenous and BC content.
Streaming note: if sharing a Can-Core film during a live-streamed class, we recommend using Chrome, Edge, or Firefox as the browser, and Zoom as the meeting app. Teams will not work.
KnowBC was launched in 2001 as the online edition of Harbour Publishing’s Encyclopedia of British Columbia. The encyclopedia remains the cornerstone of KnowBC, but there is much more on the site today. This new version of KnowBC represents a comprehensive redevelopment that will consolidate KnowBC’s standing as British Columbia’s leading general reference site. The original hard-coded pages were replaced by a state-of-the-art Content Management System (CMS) that will allow enhancements and additions to occur more readily than in the past.
Access to Canada, US, and US specialized industry reports.These reports are updated annually and provide key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and historical performance, five-year forecasts on revenue, imports, exports, employment and other key statistics, major industry participants with market share and more.
Comprehensive legal database containing Canadian court cases and tribunal decisions, current and point in time legislation (for selected jurisdictions), commentary, journals, citators and indexes.
Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources. Limited number of simultaneous users; close the browser or log out when you're finished to allow others to get in.
The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. Includes links to art images from galleries and museums around the world. Many images are held in private collections and are not readily available in public websites.
Oxford Music Online is the access point for Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference resources.
Limited simultaneous users. If you can't access the resource, try again later. Close the browser or log out when you're finished to allow others to get in.
In-depth and brief articles on all aspects of music. Includes links to related sites, including sound archives and illustrations.
The Sociology Collection provides access to the Sociological Abstracts in combination with other databases covering international literature in sociology and the social services. The Collection provides abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles from leading sociological journals. In addition it includes books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers.
Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Charts can be downloaded in PNG, PowerPoint, Excel or PDF formats or embedded in web pages and can be great in papers or presentations.
Help videos and more details are available at: https://www.statista.com/statistic-portal/.
Vividata allows users to customize their reports by demographics, attitudes, media consumption and profiling, retail outlets and product usage. The username and password are posted on your library account page (at the bottom).
By accessing and using Vividata you acknowledge and agree that you must:
Not share any of its data or other contents publicly or with any other organizations or any individuals not affiliated with CapU.
Must cite Vividata data and other contents appropriately, clearly acknowledging Vividata as the source, and
Only use Vividata data for educational purposes.
Not use CapU’s Vividata access for a paid or unpaid internship.
Request explicit permission to use Vividata data for any research that is intended for publication. To acquire permission, please contact Vividata directly here (info@vividata.ca).
