Jupyter Notebook - An open-source web application that allows you to create and share documents that contain live code, equations, visualizations and narrative text.
Matplotlib Mathplotlib is a Python 2D plotting library which produces publication quality figures in a variety of hardcopy formats and interactive environments across platforms.
scikit-learn - Open source tools for data mining and data analysis built on NumPy, SciPy, and matplotlib
R (programming language) - A programming language and free software environment for statistical computing and graphics supported by the R Foundation for Statistical Computing. The R language is widely used among statisticians and data miners for developing statistical software and data analysis.
RStudio - A free and open-source integrated development environment (IDE) for R.
Statistics and Data Sources - Coronavirus disease (COVID-19)
Up to date statistics and data for Coronavirus are available on the Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) Guide Coronavirus disease (COVID-19)
Statistics and Data Sources - Canada
Statistics Canada - Statistics Canada is the national statistical office. The agency ensures Canadians have the key information on Canada's economy, society and environment that they require to function effectively as citizens and decision makers.
Canada Open Government - Data and statistics from many branches of government. Contains more than 80,000 open data and information assets.
Canada - Topographic Information - Includes Open Government Search, Geospatial Data Extraction, Geospatial Product Index, and Toporama Interactive Map.
Canadian Census Portal - The Census Program provides a statistical portrait of the country every five years. The 2016 Census Program includes the Census of Population and the Census of Agriculture.
Statista - Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Trade Data Online - Trade Data Online provides the ability to generate customized reports on Canada and U.S. trade in goods with over 200 countries.
BC Stats - Various data sets from BC, including population projections, historical census data and the latest labour force statistics.
Canadian Opinion Research Archive - CORA makes available commercial and independent surveys to the academic, research and journalistic communities. This link leads to instructions on how to access CORA data in ODESI.
Ipsos Canadian Public Affairs Dataverse - The Ipsos Canadian Public Affairs Dataverse is a repository of over 60 Ipsos Canada surveys that shed light on Canadian elections, culture, politics, and society.
Canadian Elections Database - This database contains all information down to the district level for federal, provincial, and territorial elections back to 1867.
Data Ethics Canvas - The Data Ethics Canvas is a tool for anyone who collects, shares or uses data. It helps identify and manage ethical issues – at the start of a project that uses data, and throughout. Created by the Open Data Initiative.
Data & Society - Data & Society studies the social implications of data-centric technologies & automation.
The Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society - Privacy Tools for Sharing Research Data examines issues of maintaining research participant’s privacy in the context of information technology, advances in statistical computing, and big data.
The Centre for the Governance of AI (GovAI) - Part of the Future of Humanity Institute at the University of Oxford, strives to help humanity capture the benefits and manage the risks of artificial intelligence.
The Ethics of AI Lab - Part of the University of Toronto’s Centre for Ethics, it fosters academic and public dialogue about Ethics of AI in Context—the normative dimensions of the global AI revolution and related phenomena in all aspects of private, public, and political life.
Statistics and Data Sources - World
World Bank Open Data - Statistics on economic indicators for over 200 countries.
UNdata - Collection of 60 million data points covering a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, and development assistance.
UNCTADstat - United Nations Conference on Trade and Development statistics offered as ready-to-use analytical groupings, with a unique coverage for countries and products and a particular focus on developing and transition economies.
ILOSTAT - ILOSTAT provides users with comprehensive international data across a wide range of labour-related topics.
IMF eLibrary - Multiple financial data sets including international financial statistics and government finance statistics.
IRI/LDEO Climate Data Library - The IRI Data Library is a online data repository and analysis tool that allows a user to view, analyze, and download hundreds of terabytes of climate-related data.
Statistics and Data Sources - United States
United States Census Bureau. - Includes American Community Survey (ACS), Census of Governments, Decennial Census of Population and Housing and Economic Census.
National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) - NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) is responsible for preserving, monitoring, assessing, and providing public access to the United States climate and historical weather data and information.
American Community Survey - The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing survey that provides vital information on a yearly basis about the United States.
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis - Access to over 500,000 financial and economic data series from more than 85 public and proprietary sources.
National Center for Health Statistics - The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is the United States principal health statistics agency, providing data to identify and address health issues.
Bureau of Labor Statistics - The Bureau of Labor Statistics measures labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity in the U.S. economy to support public and private decision making.
National Longitudinal Surveys - Data on labor market activity, schooling, fertility, program participation, health, and more.
