Start Searching - Public Administration - Local Government

Books and Academic Articles

Start by searching the library website for resources like books, government documents, and reports, and searching databases for academic and popular articles.

What does peer-reviewed mean?

Peer-reviewed is the highest level of academic or scholarly publishing. The quality of the articles is maintained through a review process conducted by experts prior to publication. Not all academic journals are peer-reviewed, but all peer-reviewed journals are academic.

Articles submitted to a refereed or peer-reviewed journal are examined by one or more people with expertise in the field with which the article deals. This process gives the scholartic community assurance that the information in the article is credible and original. Some disciplines require peer-reviewed status more than others.

How can I tell if a journal is scholarly or not?

Best Databases

Search for full text articles, reports, book chapters and more in CapU Library Databases. Connect to the database and enter keywords that represent your topic. If the full text isn't available, click on the Connect to Full Text button to find the item, or to request a copy of the item.

View all Public Administration recommended databases

Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA)
Comprehensive coverage of Canadian topics, including business, politics, literature, history and news events.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) provides broad coverage from a Canadian perspective, including scholarly journals, dissertations, magazines, and wire services. Subject list spans agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and many more areas.
Canadian Major Dailies
Full text of articles in major Canadian newspapers covering from the 1980's to yesterday.
Calgary Herald Calgary, AB (Dec 7, 1988 - present) Edmonton Journal Edmonton, AB (Mar 10, 1989 - present) Financial Post Toronto, ON (Jan 5, 1985 - Oct 24, 1998) The Gazette Montreal, QC (Jan 2, 1985 - present) The Globe and Mail Toronto, ON (Nov 14, 1977 - present) Kingston Whig Standard - Kingston, ON (Jan 14, 1985 - May 31, 2006) Leader Post Regina, SK (Jan 1, 2000 - present) National Post Don Mills, ON (Oct 27, 1998 - present) The Ottawa Citizen Ottawa, ON (Sep 3, 1985 - present) The Province Vancouver, BC (Mar 20, 1989 - present) Star - Phoenix Saskatoon, SK (May 1, 1996 - present) Sudbury Star Sudbury, ON (Jul 8, 1999 - May 31, 2006) Telegraph-Journal St. John, NB(Jan 2, 1998 - present) Times - Colonist Victoria, BC (Jan 4, 1993 - present) Toronto Star Toronto, ON (Jan 2, 1987 - present) The Vancouver Sun Vancouver, BC (Jan 2, 1987 - present) The Windsor Star Windsor, ON (Oct 20, 1986 - present) Winnipeg Free Press Winnipeg, MB (Jan 2, 1982 - present) These publications are available citation-only: Daily News - Halifax, NS (Oct 22, 1990 - Apr 27, 2007) Guardian - Charlottetown, PEI (Mar 17, 1997 - Apr 27, 2007) Telegram - St. John's, NFLD (Apr 5, 1997 - Apr 27, 2007)
Business Source Ultimate
Thousands of business journals, industry magazines, and industry & market reports.
Business Source Ultimate provides full-text access to a wide range of peer-reviewed journals, trade publications and general business magazines in addition to indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals. Additional content includes case studies, company profiles, industry reports, SWOT analyses, and market research reports.
BC Stats
Several economics, business, and demographic publications by BC Stats (the British Columbia Statistical Agency).
GALLOPP
This portal provides one-stop access to more than 320,000 electronic provincial, territorial and federal government publications and legislative materials dating back to 1995.
Provided by the Association of Parliamentary Libraries in Canada (APLIC), the Government and Legislative Libraries Online Publications Portal (GALLOPP/PPGPE) allows users to search for documents by keyword or full‐text and then link to the electronic copies of the materials hosted by the collecting federal, provincial, or territorial government and legislature libraries.
Statistics Canada
Find and access Economic, social and census data with daily analysis of statistical releases from Statistics Canada.
Statistics Canada - Canada's central statistical agency - produces statistics that help Canadians better understand their country-its population, resources, economy, society, and culture.
BC Laws
Every public Act, and every regulation of general public interest, currently in force in the province of British Columbia.
Note: On April 2, 2014, the Queen's Printer officially discontinued their website, QP LegalEze.
Informit Indigenous Collection
Informit Indigenous Collection covers both topical and historical issues within Indigenous studies. The multi-disciplinary and inter-disciplinary framework provides access to emergent and ground-breaking research within the global community and offers scope for critical international engagement and debate. With material from Australia, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, North America and the Pacific, this Collection is a platform for Indigenous worldviews.