Multidisciplinary subject coverage from scholarly and popular sources.
Scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,600 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Comprehensive coverage of Canadian topics, including business, politics, literature,history and news events.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) provides broad coverage from a Canadian perspective, including scholarly journals, dissertations, magazines, and wire services. Subject list spans agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and many more areas.
Kanopy provides access to a unique collection of feature films, documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases, including award winners. Streaming titles available with Kanopy include Criterion Collection, PBS, BBC, Kino Lorber, New Day Films, Great Courses, Media Education Foundation, and more.
System requirements for streaming is an up to date web browser and a good internet connection. For full details on supported browsers please see this page from Kanopy help.
Kanopy is a "lease-on-demand" service for students and faculty. If you have questions about Kanopy, contact the library.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
LEGISinfo is an essential research tool for finding information on legislation before Parliament. This tool provides electronic access to a wide range of information about each bill, such as: details on the passage of the bill through the Senate and House of Commons; the text of the bill as introduced at First Reading and its most recent version if it is amended during the legislative process; votes; major speeches at second reading; coming into force data; legislative summaries from the Parliamentary Information and Research Service of the Library of Parliament; and government press releases and backgrounders.
Official Legislative Assembly of BC website with access to Current Bills, Progress of Bills, BC Laws, Revised Statutes and Legislation, BC Regulations Bulletins, Orders in Council and Act/Ministry Responsibilities
Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Charts can be downloaded in PNG, PowerPoint, Excel or PDF formats or embedded in web pages and can be great in papers or presentations.
Help videos and more details are available at: https://www.statista.com/statistic-portal/.
This resource provides fulltext access to more than 1400 Taylor & Francis and Routledge journals back to 1997 (or start date of journal). Subject coverage includes Early Child Education, Sociology, Tourism, Literature, History and more.