Guides: University One for Indigenous Learners: Find Articles and News

What does peer-reviewed mean?

Peer-reviewed is the highest level of academic or scholarly publishing. The quality of the articles is maintained through a review process conducted by experts prior to publication. Not all academic journals are peer-reviewed, but all peer-reviewed journals are academic.

Articles submitted to a refereed or peer-reviewed journal are examined by one or more people with expertise in the field with which the article deals. This process gives the scholartic community assurance that the information in the article is credible and original. Some disciplines require peer-reviewed status more than others.

How can I tell if a journal is scholarly or not?

Indigenous Journals

You will be asked to log in with your Capilano University ID and password to access these journals.

Find Journals, Magazines and Newspapers by Title

Search or browse for journals, magazines and newspapers in the Library collection.

Academic Articles

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary subject coverage from scholarly and popular sources.
Scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,600 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA)
Comprehensive coverage of Canadian topics, including business, politics, literature, history and news events.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) provides broad coverage from a Canadian perspective, including scholarly journals, dissertations, magazines, and wire services. Subject list spans agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and many more areas.
I-Portal
The Indigenous Studies Portal (I-Portal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
Informit Indigenous Collection
Informit Indigenous Collection covers both topical and historical issues within Indigenous studies. The multi-disciplinary and inter-disciplinary framework provides access to emergent and ground-breaking research within the global community and offers scope for critical international engagement and debate. With material from Australia, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, North America and the Pacific, this Collection is a platform for Indigenous worldviews.
Native Health Databases
Contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
The Native Health Databases contain bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The databases provide information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples. Materials indexed: bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents from various sources. [Includes Canada]
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
This bibliographic database covers many topics pertaining to Indigenous peoples in North America, including culture, history and daily life. This resource is ideal for researching the contributions, struggles and issues surrounding North America's Indigenous peoples.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America
Indigenous Newspapers in North America aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016.
Caninuit
"Most entries in the Caninuit database reference periodical publications which deal predominently with Canadian Inuit and their communities. Some entries describe library catalogues, indexes, bibliographies, and other sources of information about Inuit periodicals."

News

CBC News - Indigenous News
CBC site for news relating to Indigenous Peoples

Canadian Major Dailies
Full text of articles in major Canadian newspapers covering from the 1980's to yesterday.
Calgary Herald Calgary, AB (Dec 7, 1988 - present) Edmonton Journal Edmonton, AB (Mar 10, 1989 - present) Financial Post Toronto, ON (Jan 5, 1985 - Oct 24, 1998) The Gazette Montreal, QC (Jan 2, 1985 - present) The Globe and Mail Toronto, ON (Nov 14, 1977 - present) Kingston Whig Standard - Kingston, ON (Jan 14, 1985 - May 31, 2006) Leader Post Regina, SK (Jan 1, 2000 - present) National Post Don Mills, ON (Oct 27, 1998 - present) The Ottawa Citizen Ottawa, ON (Sep 3, 1985 - present) The Province Vancouver, BC (Mar 20, 1989 - present) Star - Phoenix Saskatoon, SK (May 1, 1996 - present) Sudbury Star Sudbury, ON (Jul 8, 1999 - May 31, 2006) Telegraph-Journal St. John, NB(Jan 2, 1998 - present) Times - Colonist Victoria, BC (Jan 4, 1993 - present) Toronto Star Toronto, ON (Jan 2, 1987 - present) The Vancouver Sun Vancouver, BC (Jan 2, 1987 - present) The Windsor Star Windsor, ON (Oct 20, 1986 - present) Winnipeg Free Press Winnipeg, MB (Jan 2, 1982 - present) These publications are available citation-only: Daily News - Halifax, NS (Oct 22, 1990 - Apr 27, 2007) Guardian - Charlottetown, PEI (Mar 17, 1997 - Apr 27, 2007) Telegram - St. John's, NFLD (Apr 5, 1997 - Apr 27, 2007)

Google News
Use Google News to search for current news articles from around the world.