Guides: Anthropology: Find Articles and News

What does peer-reviewed mean?

Peer-reviewed is the highest level of academic or scholarly publishing. The quality of the articles is maintained through a review process conducted by experts prior to publication. Not all academic journals are peer-reviewed, but all peer-reviewed journals are academic.

Articles submitted to a refereed or peer-reviewed journal are examined by one or more people with expertise in the field with which the article deals. This process gives the scholartic community assurance that the information in the article is credible and original. Some disciplines require peer-reviewed status more than others.

How can I tell if a journal is scholarly or not?

A selection of anthropology journals

Find Journals, Magazines and Newspapers by Title

Search or browse for journals, magazines and newspapers in the Library collection.

Academic Articles and Current Events

AnthroSource
Full-text access to journals produced by the American Anthropological Association.
Current issues of American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins. Journal issues generally appear online prior to distribution in print. Materials indexed: full-text journal articles, newsletters, and bulletins.
JSTOR
Searchable, archival collection of core scholarly arts, humanities, and social sciences journals.
Includes over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles.Note: In most cases 2-5 full years plus the current calendar year are excluded, except for selected titles from the Current Scholarship Collection.Capilano University Library subscribes to the following JSTOR collections: - Arts & Sciences I - Arts & Sciences II - Arts & Sciences III - Arts & Sciences IV - Arts & Sciences VIII - Select titles in current Scholarship Program
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary subject coverage from scholarly and popular sources.
Scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,600 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA)
Comprehensive coverage of Canadian topics, including business, politics, literature, history and news events.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) provides broad coverage from a Canadian perspective, including scholarly journals, dissertations, magazines, and wire services. Subject list spans agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and many more areas.
SAGE Humanities and Social Science (HSS)
Full text access to hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences field.
The SAGE Humanities and Social Science (HSS) Package provides access to hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences fields, including leading international peer-reviewed titles.
Sociology Collection
The Sociology Collection provides access to the Sociological Abstracts in combination with other databases covering international literature in sociology and the social services. The Collection provides abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles from leading sociological journals. In addition it includes books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers.
Social Science Research Network
Access to abstracts and articles in the Social Sciences.
"Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a world wide collaborative of over 285,400 authors and more than 1.7 million users that is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research."
ELDIS Gateway to Development Information
Over 22,000 online full-text documents and 30 subject guides related to development studies, worldwide.
30 subject-focused guides by topics including:

Ageing population, agriculture, aid & debt, biodiversity, children & young people, climate change, corporate social responsibility, debt relief, education, finance policy, food security, forestry, gender, governance, globalization, health, health systems, HIV/AIDS, information communications technology for development, influencing policy: research to policy linkages, intellectual property rights, Norwegian research, participation, pastoralism, poverty, questioning development, tourism, trade policy, World Bank & IMF.

You can also look for particular types of publications: (manuals & toolkits, statistics) as well as information by country, in the Country Profiles section.

Can set up a RSS feed from the site: http://www.eldis.org/newsscript/select.htm

Materials indexed: Reports, manuals, statistics, websites, development newsletters from different organizations from around the world, and funding and conference/workshop announcements.

News Sources

Canadian Major Dailies
Full text of articles in major Canadian newspapers covering from the 1980's to yesterday.
Calgary Herald Calgary, AB (Dec 7, 1988 - present) Edmonton Journal Edmonton, AB (Mar 10, 1989 - present) Financial Post Toronto, ON (Jan 5, 1985 - Oct 24, 1998) The Gazette Montreal, QC (Jan 2, 1985 - present) The Globe and Mail Toronto, ON (Nov 14, 1977 - present) Kingston Whig Standard - Kingston, ON (Jan 14, 1985 - May 31, 2006) Leader Post Regina, SK (Jan 1, 2000 - present) National Post Don Mills, ON (Oct 27, 1998 - present) The Ottawa Citizen Ottawa, ON (Sep 3, 1985 - present) The Province Vancouver, BC (Mar 20, 1989 - present) Star - Phoenix Saskatoon, SK (May 1, 1996 - present) Sudbury Star Sudbury, ON (Jul 8, 1999 - May 31, 2006) Telegraph-Journal St. John, NB(Jan 2, 1998 - present) Times - Colonist Victoria, BC (Jan 4, 1993 - present) Toronto Star Toronto, ON (Jan 2, 1987 - present) The Vancouver Sun Vancouver, BC (Jan 2, 1987 - present) The Windsor Star Windsor, ON (Oct 20, 1986 - present) Winnipeg Free Press Winnipeg, MB (Jan 2, 1982 - present) These publications are available citation-only: Daily News - Halifax, NS (Oct 22, 1990 - Apr 27, 2007) Guardian - Charlottetown, PEI (Mar 17, 1997 - Apr 27, 2007) Telegram - St. John's, NFLD (Apr 5, 1997 - Apr 27, 2007)

Anthropology News
Information from the American Anthropological Association