The Textile Museum of Canada's permanent collection contains more than 12,000 artifacts and spans almost 2,000 years and 200 world regions. This diverse collection includes fabrics, ceremonial cloths, garments, carpets, and quilts that reflect the cultural and aesthetic significance that cloth has held for centuries.
Considered the leading collection of Canadian dress and the second most important collection of costume in Canada, this collection has grown since 1957 to contain some 18,845 items of dress and accessories. Among the plethora of women's dresses, parasols, hats, fans and footwear are many marvels created by some of Montreal's greatest 20th-century designers. The menswear in the collection includes suits, coats and accessories. Children's dress is also well represented. Finally, there is an important group of embroidered samplers, quilts and other textiles, including North America's oldest known patchwork quilt (1726).
With over 50,000 costumes and textile artifacts from the mid-18th century to the present, the Chicago History Museum Costume Collection is the second largest in the world and one of the nation’s most complete repositories of fashion.
The Department of Textiles contains more than 13,000 textiles and 66,000 sample swatches ranging from 300 B.C. to the present. The collection has strengths in Pre-Columbian textiles, European vestments, tapestries, woven silks and velvets, printed fabrics, needlework, and lace. The department has strong holdings in 16th- and 17th-century English needlework, and printed and woven materials of the 18th and 19th centuries. American quilts and woven coverlets, Eastern textiles, and 20th-century fiber art are also represented.
This essay is taken from the catalog of the exhibition, Tony Robbin: A Retrospective Paintings and Drawings 1970-2010, that runs at the Orlando Museum of Art, August 20 to October 30, 2011. The publication, which also includes contributions by Carter Ratcliff, George Francis, and Linda Dalrymple Henderson, is available from Hudson Hills.
The World Shibori Network (WSN) was founded in 1992 in Nagoya, Japan, as a grass roots organization dedicated to the preservation of Japanese shibori and similar traditional techniques across the globe.