Documentary and educational video streaming platform.
Streaming note: if sharing a Films on Demand film during a live-streamed class, we recommend using Chrome, Edge, Firefox, or Safari as the browser, and Zoom or Webex as the meeting app. Teams will not work.
The Jazz Discography includes information about jazz recordings dating back over 100 years. From the website: “The Jazz Discography is the world's largest and most complete source of information about jazz records and jazz recording sessions. Recording sessions are listed by bandleader name and presented in chronological order. Session details include the titles of each tune recorded plus the names of all supporting musicians and the instrument(s) they played. The date and location of each recording plus matrix and record company release numbers are also shown.
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.
The Virtual Gramophone database contains information and images for more than 15,000 78-rpm and cylinder recordings released in Canada, as well as foreign recordings featuring Canadian artists and/or compositions.
The British Library holds one of the world’s foremost sound archives with a collection of over 3.5 million audio recordings. These come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound from music, drama and literature, to oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
Explore the vast collection of the Library of Congress, including artifacts and information on theatre, music and dance in the United States and beyond.
