On the Web - FILM 323 - Queer Cinema - Guides at Capilano University

LGBT Websites

These LGTB websites are rich with a variety of resources - legal cases, community advocacy and history.

BC Gay and Lesbian Archives
Over 12, 500 items relating to LGBTQ2+ history in BC, collected by Ron Dutton and donated to the City of Vancouver Archives in 2018. "Collection includes textual records (primarily textual ephemera), periodicals, photographs, posters, and audiovisual materials pertaining to LGBTQ2+ communities in Vancouver and British Columbia."
Transgender Archives, University of Victoria
"The University of Victoria believes that the history of pioneering transgender activists and the work they have done on behalf of their communities must be preserved. UVic Archives is actively acquiring documents, rare publications, and memorabilia of persons and organizations that have worked for the betterment of transgendered people."
Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD)
See Publications and Resources categories for full-text guides and reports on various topics of interest to the LGBT community.
GLBT Round Table (GLBTRT) of the American Library Association
Professional organization responsible for conferring the prestigious Stonewall Book Awards. Check out their informative newsletter and bibliographies.
Human Rights Campaign (HRC Publications)
"HRC seeks to improve the lives of LGBT Americans by advocating for equal rights and benefits in the workplace, ensuring families are treated equally under the law and increasing public support among all Americans through innovative advocacy, education and outreach programs".
Lambda Legal Defense and Education Fund
"Lambda Legal is a national organization committed to achieving full recognition of the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people and those with HIV through impact litigation, education and public policy work."
National Gay and Lesbian Task Force: Reports & Studies
Research reports, issue maps, and fact sheets "ranging from the effects of same-sex marriage restriction on Latino families to ex-gay ministries to right-wing efforts to win African-American votes by spreading homophobia."
Outhistory.org
"OutHistory.org is produced by The Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies (CLAGS), located at the City University of New York Graduate Center." It currently contains well over 500 entries on various aspects of LGBT History.
It Gets Better Project
Begun by columnist/activist, Dan Savage, and his partner, Terry Miller, after a wave of suicides by LGTB youth, the It Gets Better Project collects queer stories with the aim of giving hope.

Queer Cinema Websites

Global Queer Cinema
Global Queer Cinema is a collaborative research project engaged in investigating queer film cultures from a global perspective and analysing world cinema from a queer point of view.
Out on Screen
Illuminating, celebrating and advancing queer lives through film, education and dialogue.
Media Queer
The goal of the Queer Media Database Canada-Québec Project is to maintain a dynamic online catalogue of LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer) Canadian film, video and digital works, their makers, and related institutions.
Lavender Images: Posters from the Jenni Olsen Film Collection Queer
This online exhibition features a century of promotional images for queer content film, and some great notes as well.

Best Film Sites

Internet Movie Database (IMDB)
The most comprehensive source for film, with credits, synopses, images, trivia, awards, and more for almost every film ever made.
Internet Archive - Moving Images
Repository for public domain media, including impressive archive of copyright-free and creative commons motion pictures. Hollywood and US Government content, as well as independent and amateur films, available for download (multiple formats) and streaming.
European Film Gateway
From Choice, "The portal to Europe's cultural and scientific history, the European Film Gateway (EFG) provides access to a large collection of historical film documents, mainly from European film archives. Currently the database contains over 550,000 items, nearly all of which are images, though it includes 26,000-plus videos and 10,000-plus texts."
Show full description...Hide full description...
The 15 contributing partner institutions include film institutes and archives in France, Germany, Denmark, Greece, the Czech Republic, and Lithuania, among others; noncontributing partners include the Europeana Foundation and film associations across Europe. Holdings can be searched in both the EFG and Europeana sites.
Moving Image Source
Created by the Museum of the Moving Image, Moving Image Source is a website devoted to the history of film, television, and digital media. It features original articles by leading critics, authors, and scholars; a calendar that highlights major retrospectives, festivals, and gallery exhibitions at venues around the world; and a regularly updated guide to online research resources.
Media History Digital Library
Scanned issues of public domain magazines - trade publications and fan mags - with coverage ranging from 1903-1995.
Margaret Herrick Library Digital Collection
Extensive old Hollywood collection including many Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences documents. Oscar photos, lobby cards, posters, letters and other key resources for the classic American moviemaking industry
Show full description...Hide full description...
Contains more than 5000 items, including correspondence, photographs, early release fliers, full issues of rare periodicals, sheet music, lobby cards and movie star ephemera. The database also includes complete copies of more than 450 Academy publications, dating back to the founding of the organization in 1927.

Research Tips

Before You Begin - A Checklist

To successfully find information you will need:

a well-defined topic
a keyword list with at least 3-4 main keywords to use in your search
a list of questions to answer or an "information wishlist"
an understanding of the kind of items you hope to find (academic? media? reports?)
places to search

Strategy	Example
Use "quotation marks" for exact-phrase searching	"video games" "British Columbia "freedom of the press" "needle exchange"
Search for keywords within specific fields - use the drop-down list beside the search box.	Title Subject Terms Journal Title Abstract
Use suggested topics, subjects and thesaurus terms for more refined searching
Use the available limiter options (left side of results page)	Full Text (excludes books) Peer Reviewed (Scholarly) Articles (excludes books) Publication Date Format Subject Geography
Use narrower keywords	video games > first person shooters safe-injection sites > Insite Vancouver > Hastings Street, Downtown Eastside
Check "Books & Media" to find just books, ebooks and media

Strategy	Example
Use "OR" to look for versions of the same concept (synonyms, related words)	child OR youth OR teen safe-injection OR "needle exchange" OR Insite Vancouver OR "British Columbia" OR "Lower Mainland"
Use * [shift+8] after a word's root to search all endings	Canad* = Canada, Canadian, Canadians, Canadiana "video gam*" = video game, video games, video gaming
Use broader keywords	video games < media < entertainment safe-injection < harm reduction policies < drug addiction
Uncheck “CapU Library Collections and Subscriptions” in Discovery

If you find an item we don't have, get it via interlibrary loan.

Interlibrary Loan Form

Many CapU Library online resources (databases, electronic books) want to authenticate you to ensure you're a CapU student before giving you access. When you try to access these resources off-campus, and occasionally when you are on campus, the CapU account login page will appear.

Just enter your CapU Network ID:

username: firstnamelastname
password: CapU password

Forgot your password?

If you are asked to log in to a page that doesn't have the CapU logo, something has gone wrong. Contact us to help sort it out.

There is no charge to bring in any article or book from outside CapU Library.

Remember to plan ahead - it can take a few days or a few weeks to get your item, depending on availability.

Interlibrary Loan Form

Did you know you have borrowing privileges at other universities?
Visit the Library Services counter to get a reciprocal borrowing card and start taking books out from UBC LIbraries, SFU Library and more!

How to borrow from other libraries