This resource type includes: historical documents and media, visuals, contextualizing resources, personal expressions (diaries, letters), aka "primary sources". It also may include analysis of history and historical items, "secondary sources".
Digitized versions of 168 historical papers from around the province. The titles, which range from the Abbotsford Post to the Ymir Mirror, date from 1859 to 1995.
The British Columbia Historical Newspapers Collection makes 24 of B.C.’s earliest newspapers freely available in digital format for the first time.
KnowBC was launched in 2001 as the online edition of Harbour Publishing’s Encyclopedia of British Columbia. The encyclopedia remains the cornerstone of KnowBC, but there is much more on the site today. This new version of KnowBC represents a comprehensive redevelopment that will consolidate KnowBC’s standing as British Columbia’s leading general reference site. The original hard-coded pages were replaced by a state-of-the-art Content Management System (CMS) that will allow enhancements and additions to occur more readily than in the past.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016.
Searchable, archival collection of core scholarly arts, humanities, and social sciences journals.
Includes over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles.Note: In most cases 2-5 full years plus the current calendar year are excluded, except for selected titles from the Current Scholarship Collection.Capilano University Library subscribes to the following JSTOR collections: - Arts & Sciences I - Arts & Sciences II - Arts & Sciences III - Arts & Sciences IV - Arts & Sciences VIII - Select titles in current Scholarship Program
