Guides: Learn &amp; Practice English: Writing & Grammar

Dictionaries, Thesaures, Translators, etc.

Acronym and Abbreviation Dictionary
Free dictionary to find meanings of acronyms and abbrevations.
Babel Fish
Free online translator for phrases and sentences.
Cambridge Dictionaries Online
One of the best free online dictionaries for ESL.
Dictionary.com
Free, easy-to-use dictionary.
Dictionary of English Idioms & Idiomatic Expressions
Google Translate
Easy-to-use free translator by Google.
Irregular Verb Dictionary
Lists irregular verbs.
Online Slang Dictionary
Dictionary for slang words.
The Phrase Finder
Meanings and origins of thousands of English phrases, sayings, idioms, and expressions.
Thesaurus.com
A free online thesaurus.

Essay Writing Centre
This website gives help on how to write all types of essays: research essays, essays for literature, comparison essays, etc.
Online ESL Writing Worksheets
This website offers topics you can use to practice your writing.
Paraphrasing
This site offers help on paraphrasing, and teaches how to avoid accidental plagiarism.

5-Minute English: ESL Grammar Lessons
Lessons and exercises for beginning and intermediate students.
Article Usage
This website tells you how to use articles and different types of nouns (noncount nouns, count nouns, etc.) correctly.
English Grammar (British Council)
You can read through this like a textbook, or select a specific topic you are interested in.
Grammar & ESL Exercises
Exercises for Intermediate and Advanced students.
Grammar Handbook
Online grammar manual by the University of Illinois.
Grammar Lessons and Exercises
For Beginning and Intermediate learners, by the University of Victoria
Skillswise
This BBC website has resources on reading, writing, grammar, and speaking and listening.

Business English Site.com
A free website with exercises on business English words and jargon.
ESL Gold: Business Expressions
Lists different expressions used in business situations. Also has audio.
ESL Mania
List of idioms used in business.
NY Times Glossary of Financial and Business Terms
Thorough list of business words and phrases, with definitions. For advanced learners.