Guides: Early Childhood Care and Education: Recommended Journals

Find Journals, Magazines and Newspapers by Title

Search or browse for journals, magazines and newspapers in the Library collection.

Recommended ECCE Journals - Online

Canadian Journal of Children's Rights CJCR is an academic, peer-reviewed journal which aims to encourage a deeper understanding of the rights of children. It offers a forum for exchanging ideas and engaging in conversation regarding a range of issues relating to children's rights. It is international in scope and content, and encourages diverse approaches to the subject.
Child Development "Published by the Society for Research in Child Development. The purpose of the Society is to promote multidisciplinary research in the field of human development, to foster the exchange of information among scientists and other professionals of various disciplines."
Contemporary Issues in Early Childhood "The journal provides a forum for researchers and professionals who are exploring new and alternative perspectives in their work with young children (from birth to eight years of age) and their families."
Early Childhood Education Journal "The Early Childhood Education Journal analyzes issues, trends, policies, and practices for early childhood education from birth through age eight. In addition, the journal offers well documented points of view and practical recommendations"
Early Childhood Research Quarterly publishes research on early childhood education and development from birth through 8 years of age.
Early Years Publication of TACTYC (Association for Professional Development in Early Years)
Global Studies of Childhood "GSC aims to present opportunities for scholars and emerging researchers to interrogate the ways in which globalization and new global perspectives impact on children’s life experiences."
Journal of Childhoods and Pedagogies This interdisciplinary journal provides a forum for students, educators, and researchers to engage with exploratory, innovative, and reconceptualist approaches to early childhood education, particularly childhoods, pedagogies, and curriculum. It is published by the School of Education & Childhood Studies at Capilano University (Canada).
Journal of Childhood Studies This is a peer reviewed, open access digital journal that aims to provide researchers and practitioners with a transdisciplinary space to cultivate experimental, creative, and alternative approaches to, and conceptualizations of, childhood. Published by the Canadian Association for Young Children and hosted by the University of Victoria.
Journal of Early Childhood Literacy "The main emphasis in the journal is on papers researching issues related to the nature, function and use of literacy in early childhood."
Journal of Early Childhood Research "a peer reviewed journal that provides an international forum childhood research, bridging cross-disciplinary areas and applying theory and research within the professional community."
Journal of Research in Childhood Education "features articles that advance knowledge and theory of the education of children, infancy through early adolescence. Consideration is given to reports of empirical research, theoretical articles, ethnographic and case studies, participant observation studies, and studies deriving data collected from naturalistic settings. The journal includes cross-cultural studies and those addressing international concerns."

Recommended ECCE Journals - Print

Early Childhood Education
Currently not indexed in any database
Exchange Magazine
Exchange Magazine is currently not indexed in any database. We do not have access to full text articles on the Exchange web-site. However, keyword, title, and author searches are possible on the web-site; this information can be used to find articles in our print subscription.
Innovations in Early Education
Currently not indexed in any database
Young Children (YC)
Currently not indexed in any database

Recommended ECCE Journal - Print and limited online access

Young Children (YC) print
Young Children is not indexed in any Library database. The Library has a print subscription to this journal which is shelved on the 1st floor. Limited online access is available in the link below:
Yound Children (YC) limited online access
Young Children's website provides a searchable index. Only some articles are available online.

EDUC 375 - Recommended Journals

Australasian Journal of Early Childhood
Canadian Children (now Journal of Childhood Studies. Available in print. Shelved in Library Periodicals under Canadian Children)
Childhood Education
Child Care in Practice
Contemporary Issues in Early Childhood
Early Childhood Education Journal
Early Childhood Research & Practice
Global Studies of Childhood
Journal of Early Childhood Teacher Education
Journal of Early Childhood Research
Race, Ethnicity, and Education
Canadian Journal of Native Studies
AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples
Decolonization : Indigeneity, Education & Society
Journal of Gender Studies