Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Copyright

This guide provides information to Capilano University employees and students regarding copyright, licence agreements, and related topics. This guide does not provide legal advice.

Copyright & Licensing in the Classroom

The copying and distribution of any material in the physical or digital classroom must meet certain conditions:

eLearn

Material from print

Fair Dealing permits the scanning and posting of a single copy of a short excerpt from a copyright-protected work in an eLearn course.  All points in the guidelines must be met. Multiple chapters from different works cannot be assembled to replace a normal textbook purchase.

Material from licensed electronic resource

Some licences permit inclusion of material in secured course management systems such as eLearn.‚Äč Check the Permitted Uses listed under each database in the Databases A-Z List for details. If unclear, please contact the Library's Copyright Team for support.

Links

Best practice is to link to material when possible. This includes to material available on the Internet and to material in licensed resources.

To learn how to create a persistent link to licensed material, see Link to the Library. For more assistance, contact your liaison librarian.

Coursepacks

The Bookstore can offer both print and digital coursepacks.

Material from print

 Fair Dealing permits a single copy of a short excerpt from a copyright-protected work be included in a coursepack. All points in the guidelines must be met. Multiple chapters from different works cannot be assembled to replace a normal textbook purchase.

Material from licensed electronic resource

Some licences permit inclusion of material in course packs.

Licence terms and conditions of electronic resources are available at the level of both title (e.g. International Journal of Tourism Research) and collection/database (e.g. Hospitality & Tourism Complete). Please contact the Library for further information.

Process

  • Submit coursepack requests to the Bookstore.
  • Requests will be checked to ensure they meet licensing requirements or the Copyright Policy
  • If requests do not meet requirements or guidelines, you will be contacted to discuss alternatives.
  • Alternatives may include:
    • adjusting request to meet requirements and guidelines (for example, potentially linking to material or reducing the amount to be copied)
    • seeking permission from the copyright holder

Handouts

Material from print

Capilano University Fair Dealing Guidelines permit a single copy of a short excerpt from a copyright-protected work as a class handout. All points in the guidelines must be met. Multiple chapters from different works cannot be assembled to replace a normal textbook purchase.

Material from licensed electronic resource

Some licences permit handouts.

Licence terms and conditions of electronic resources are available via the Capilano University Library website at the level of both title (e.g. International Journal of Tourism Research) and collection/database (e.g. Hospitality & Tourism Complete). Please contact the Library for further information.

Go digital

Consider providing access to material electronically, via eLearn.