Sources for: Canadian Statistics and Key Publications
CANSIM: This is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Many tables allow for limiting by gender and age.
BC Human Rights Tribunal: The B.C. Human Rights Tribunal is an independent, quasi-judicial body created by the B.C. Human Rights Code. The Tribunal is responsible for accepting, screening, mediating and adjudicating human rights complaints.
Canadian Human Rights Commission: The Canadian Human Rights Commission administers the Canadian Human Rights Act and is responsible for ensuring compliance with the Employment Equity Act.
Women in Canada: A Gender-based Statistical Report: A semi-regularly published report that aims to provide the data to continue "the discussion and evaluation of the changing roles and social characteristics of Canadian women as well as contribute to the development of policies concerning the status of women in Canada."
Gender Data Portal: Canada: From the World Bank, provides data on key indicators relating to economic situation, health, education, public life and decision making and agency of Canadian women.
Sources for: International Statisics and Key Publications
UN Gender Statistics: This portal brings together books, reports, data, statistics and documents related to topics including gender equality, empowerment, and gender indicators.
Minimum Set of Gender Indicators: From the United Nations Statistics Division, provides indicators on women and men related to health, public life and decision making, and human rights. Has a table-building tool as well as over 50 topic-based tables ready to download.
United States Census Bureau: The official site for the US Census, which has the mandate to collect and disseminate data relating to the country's people and economy. Statistical areas of interest include Equal Employment Opportunity Tabulation, Families and Living Arrangements, Poverty, Race, Same Sex Couples.
World DataBank: Data on key gender topics. Themes included are demographics, education, health, labor force, and political participation. Key databases include Gender Statistics and Poverty and Inequality Database.
Also provides the Gender Data Portal: the agency's"comprehensive source for the latest sex-disaggregated data and gender statistics covering demography, education, health, economic opportunities, public life and decision-making, and agency. The database is updated four times a year (April, July, September, and December)."
Gender Equality Resources: From UNICEF, this site provides "information, publications, statistics and resources to improve international understanding of issues relating to gender equality and women's and girl's empowerment."
OECD Gender: Has data, documents, reports and working papers on the topic of gender. Also provides access to the OECD Gender Data portal:
"The OECD Gender Data Portal includes selected indicators shedding light on gender inequalities in education, employment, entrepreneurship, governance, health and development, showing how far we are from achieving gender equality and where actions is most needed. The data cover OECD member countries, as well as partner economies including Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, and South Africa."
The following is a small sample of peer-reviewed journals in the field of Women's Studies available in print and/or full-text in our library:
Developed and maintained by the Women & Gender Studies Section of the Association of College & Research Libraries. The purpose of WSSLINKS is to provide access to a wide range of resources in support of Women's Studies.