Skip to main content

Copyright: Licensing

This guide provides information to Capilano University employees and students regarding copyright, license agreements, and related topics. This guide does not provide legal advice.

License Definitions

Walk In: Individual members of the public who access licensed materials when physically present at Capilano University Library.

Coursepack: A print resource containing copies of licensed materials for student purchase that is determined by Capilano University faculty members/staff. Coursepacks must be created with assistance from and sold through the Capilano University Bookstore. All materials in a coursepack must contain complete citation and source information.

E-reserve: An electronic resource containing copies of licensed materials stored in a secured virtual environment for use by students in a specific class. All materials must contain complete citation and source information. If the license does not allow e-reserves, consider using persistent links.

Persistent link: A persistent link provides stable access to a specific article within a subscription database or electronic journal (provided that the person clicking on the link is an authenticated user). Persistent links are also called permanent links, permalinks, stable links, stable URLs, or PURLs.

ILL (Interlibrary loan): A service that facilitates the movement of materials between libraries.

Remote access: Off-campus access to a resource via secure authentication.

Licensing

Capilano University Library - individually and through consortia - signs licensing agreements with vendors and publishers for access to electronic resources such as databases, ejournals, and ebooks.

These agreements - not copyright law or fair dealing - govern the access of the resources and the use of the material retrieved from these resources.

Each resource has its own licensing agreement. Generally speaking, all electronic resource licenses do not allow:

- systematic downloading, for example entire volumes or issues of journals or entire books
- use of robots, crawlers or similar software applications to capture data
- resale or commercial use

Some - not all - licenses permit use in course packs and/or inclusion of material in secured course management systems such as Moodle.

Persistent links to these materials can be created and placed in Moodle, which lead authenticated users directly to the material.

Library Licenses

License terms and conditions of electronic resources are available via the Capilano University Library website at the level of both title (e.g. International Journal of Tourism Research) and collection/database (e.g. Hospitality & Tourism Complete).

For information at the title level, search the title in the CapU Journal Finder, and click on the title of the journal.

For information at the collection/database level, search the name of the collection/database in the CapU Database Finder.

If licensing information is not available for a resource,  or if you have any questions, please contact us.