Skip to main content

Human Anatomy: Home

Human anatomy resources

Browse the Collection

General materials on Anatomy are shelved together in the QM classification section. To assist you in browsing the collection, try the following areas:

QM1-695 Human anatomy

  • QM1-511 General
  • QM531-549 Regional anatomy
  • QM550-577.8 Human and comparative histology
  • QM601-695 Human embryology

Suggested Subject Searches

Search the library catalogue for books and audiovisual materials. Enter the Subject Heading Human Anatomy for a list of titles. Other headings that may relate to your research are:

Human body

Human skeleton

Human Anatomy - Atlases

Bones - physiology

Joints - Physiology

Muscles - Physiology

Brain - Anatomy

Spinal cord

Central nervous system

 

Search Discovery

Discovery is the Library's one-search experience. Find articles, books, films, music and more!

Start your research here.

 

Learn more about Discovery with these video tutorials:

Search the CapU Catalogue - Find books, ebooks, media, reports and more

Advanced Search | Course Reserves

Search Databases

Anatomy related news articles

Credo Reference Topic Pages

Credo Reference has created topic pages for a wide range of health-related subjects. On these topic pages, you'll find a collection of articles and entries from their reference texts as well as searches in the Library catalogue and relevant databases.

Research Tips

Before You Begin - A Checklist

To successfully find information you will need:

  • a well-defined topic
  • a keyword list with at least 3-4 main keywords to use in your search
  • a list of questions to answer or an "information wishlist"
  • an understanding of the kind of items you hope to find (academic? media? reports?)
  • places to search (see below)

Strategy

Example

 Use "quotation marks" for exact-phrase searching
  • "video games"
  • "British Columbia
  • "freedom of the press"
  • "needle exchange"
Search for keywords within specific fields - use the drop-down list beside the search box.
  • Title
  • Abstract
  • Subject
  • Source Title
 Use suggested topics, subjects and thesaurus terms for more refined searching  
 Use the available limiter options (left side of results page)
  • Full text only (excludes books)
  • Peer-reviewed Articles (excludes books)
  • by Date
  • by Format
  • by Subject
  • by Geography
Use narrower keywords
  • video games > first person shooters
  • safe-injection sites > Insite
  • Vancouver > Hastings Street, Downtown Eastside
Check Catalogue Only to find just books, ebooks and media  

Strategy

Example

 Use "or" to look for versions of the same concept (synonyms, related words)
  • child or youth or teen
  • safe-injection or "needle exchange" or Insite
  • Vancouver or BC or "British Columbia" or "Lower Mainland"
  Use * [shift+8] after a word's root to search all endings
  • Canad* = Canada, Canadian, Canadians, Canadiana
  • "video gam*" = video game, video games, video gaming
  Use broader keywords
  • video games < media < entertainment
  • safe-injection < harm reduction policies < drug addiction
Uncheck “available in CapU Collection” in Discovery
If you find an item we don't have, get it via interlibrary loan.
 

 

Video Tutorial - Basic Search in Discovery

Video Tutorial - Finding Books with Discovery

What are Call Numbers?

Photo by Flickr User JenWaller

 

Each library book has a spine label with an alphanumeric call number. The call number is not just the book's "address", it also signifies what the book is about.

Books about similar topics are shelved together. For example:

  • Psychology books start with BF
  • Psychiatry books are in RC 321-571

You've found your book on the shelf. Here is another opportunity to find more books! Take a look at the ones shelved nearby, they may cover similar topics to the book in your hand.

Remember, we may also carry many ebooks on your topic - you'll find those online via keyword or subject search.

Many CapU Library online resources (databases, electronic books) want to authenticate you to ensure you're a CapU student before giving you access. When you try to access these resources off-campus, and occasionally when you are on campus, this screen will appear:

Just enter your CapU Network ID:

username: firstnamelastname
password: CapU password

Forgot your password?

If you are asked to log in to a page that doesn't have the CapU logo, something has gone wrong. Contact us to help sort it out.

There is no charge to bring in any article or book from outside CapU Library.

Remember to plan ahead - it can take a few days or a few weeks to get your item, depending on availability.

Visit the Interlibrary Loan information page for details.

Did you know you have borrowing privileges at other universities? 
Visit the Library Services counter to get a reciprocal borrowing card and start taking books out from UBC LIbraries, SFU Library and more!

Loading