Skip to main content

Copyright: Classroom

This guide provides information to Capilano University employees and students regarding copyright, license agreements, and related topics. This guide does not provide legal advice.

Copyright & Licensing in the Classroom

The copying and distribution of any material in the physical or digital classroom must meet certain conditions:

Moodle

Material from print

Capilano University Fair Dealing Guidelines permit the scanning and posting of a single copy of a short excerpt from a copyright-protected work in a Moodle course.  All points in the guidelines must be met. Multiple chapters from different works cannot be assembled to replace a normal textbook purchase.

Material from licensed electronic resource

Some licenses permit inclusion of material in secured course management systems such as Moodle.

License terms and conditions of electronic resources are available via the Capilano University Library website at the level of both title (e.g. International Journal of Tourism Research) and collection/database (e.g. Hospitality & Tourism Complete).

For information at the title level, search the title in the CapU Journal Finder, and click on the title of the journal.

For information at the collection/database level, search the name of the collection/database in the CapU Database Finder.

If licensing information is not available for a resource,  or if you have any questions, please contact the Copyright Librarian.

Links

Best practice is to link to material when able. This includes to material available on the Internet and to material in licensed resources.

To learn how to create a persistent link to licensed material, see this instructional video or contact your liaison librarian.

Coursepacks

Material from print

Capilano University Fair Dealing Guidelines permit a single copy of a short excerpt from a copyright-protected work be included in a coursepack. All points in the guidelines must be met. Multiple chapters from different works cannot be assembled to replace a normal textbook purchase.

Material from licensed electronic resource

Some licenses permit inclusion of material in course packs.

License terms and conditions of electronic resources are available via the Capilano University Library website at the level of both title (e.g. International Journal of Tourism Research) and collection/database (e.g. Hospitality & Tourism Complete).

For information at the title level, search the title in the CapU Journal Finder, and click on the title of the journal.

For information at the collection/database level, search the name of the collection/database in the CapU Database Finder.

If licensing information is not available for a resource,  or if you have any questions, please contact Copyright Librarian Sabrina Wong.

Process

  • Submit coursepack requests to the Bookstore.
  • Requests will be checked to ensure they meet licensing requirements or copyright & fair dealing guidelines.
  • If requests do not meet requirements or guidelines, you will be contacted to discuss alternatives.
  • Alternatives may include:
    • adjusting request to meet requirements and guidelines (for example, potentially linking to material or reducing the amount to be copied)
    • seeking permission from the copyright holder

Go digital

Consider providing access to material electronically, via Moodle.

Handouts

Material from print

Capilano University Fair Dealing Guidelines permit a single copy of a short excerpt from a copyright-protected work as a class handout. All points in the guidelines must be met. Multiple chapters from different works cannot be assembled to replace a normal textbook purchase.

Material from licensed electronic resource

Some licenses permit handouts.

License terms and conditions of electronic resources are available via the Capilano University Library website at the level of both title (e.g. International Journal of Tourism Research) and collection/database (e.g. Hospitality & Tourism Complete).

For information at the title level, search the title in the CapU Journal Finder, and click on the title of the journal.

For information at the collection/database level, search the name of the collection/database in the CapU Database Finder.

If licensing information is not available for a resource,  or if you have any questions, please contact Copyright Librarian Sabrina Wong.

Go digital

Consider providing access to material electronically, via Moodle.

Audiovisual: In the Classroom

Unless otherwise stated, Public Performance Rights are no longer necessary to show films/DVDs (including feature films, streaming video, and purchased TV programming on DVD) for educational purposes in a classroom setting.*

  • Only legally acquired media can be used
    •  titles from Capilano Library's streaming collection or physical collection
    •  your home purchased collection
    •  borrowed from a video store
  • Personal "on demand" subscriptions (iTunes, Bell, Rogers, Netflix, etc.) cannot be screened in class due to licensing restrictions.
    • Netflix has a handful of original documentaries that are an exception to this, and are permitted to be used once per account for educational purposes.  Please see details here: https://help.netflix.com/en/node/57695
  • Online video feeds must be:
    • legally posted online. For example, you cannot show a scene from the film The Matrix, posted online by someone called johnsmith12345.
    • free of notices that ban the use of the material in educational settings.

Television and radio programming can be screened in classrooms at the time of broadcast.

Recording live radio and television broadcasts to playback in face to face classrooms, can be done within certain restrictions. Please contact the Copyright Librarian for more information.

*Please note that some films/DVDs in CapU Library Collection do carry restrictions. These restrictions will be noted on the item's catalogue record.

Audiovisual: Outside the Classroom

Capilano has entertainment licenses for Audio Cine Films and Criterion Pictures that allows broader use rights outside the ordinary classroom context:

  • The films can be shown anywhere on campus.
  • The film can be shown by someone other than an instructor, e.g. a student club, a staff training event.
  • The audience can include students and staff, with some members of the public present

However:

  • The event must be free to attend -- no cost or cover charge. Showing films at charity fund-raisers is allowed, but only when the cost is purely by donation
  • The license covers only films that have been released for rental and home purchase; films still in theatrical release are not covered.
  • The primary audience of the event must be members of the institution. Event advertising must be limited to media targeted at the university/college and its students and staff. In the case of print advertising, the advertisements may only appear in campus media (e.g. a student newspaper) and not in general community newspapers.

Is the film you want to show covered by a license? Check here:

*Please note that some films/DVDs in CapU Library Collection do carry restrictions. These restrictions will be noted on the item's catalogue record.