Skip to main content

Tourism and Outdoor Recreation Management: Start

Welcome to Tourism Management!

Capilano University’s Tourism and Outdoor Recreation Management programs are on the leading edge of tourism education in B.C. In an industry that is ever-evolving with the increasing global demand for innovative tourism experiences, Capilano University’s degree and diploma programs deliver the knowledge and skills graduates need for a rewarding and successful career in this dynamic industry.

This Research Guide will give you access to many of the resources that you'll need to conduct research during the course of your studies, whether you're conducting academic, industry, or market research.

For one-on-one research help, please contact your librarian.

How to Start Your Research Assignment

What do you have to do to successfully complete this assignment? How long will each step take you?

Make a list of the tasks you need to accomplish. Set a schedule to finish each task. Put the schedule into your calendar.

Is your topic the right size? Most students choose a topic that is too large. Doing some presearch on your topic can help you get the big picture and understand what narrower topics are available.

Reference resources help you get started on a new topic, answer quick questions, and/or point you to further resources. Examples of reference resources include:
Almanacs -
Atlases - Dictionaries - Encyclopedias - Handbooks - Indexes - Thesauri

Wikipedia is a crowd-sourced encyclopedia. Credo Reference is a collection of all of the above.

What questions will you need to answer to write about your topic? What information will you need to find to support your argument?

Make a list to help guide your research.

 

It's true - keywords are the key to success when it comes to research. Generating a list of keywords before you start searching - and adding to the list as you go - will make you an efficient, effective searcher. If you can't find what your looking for, it's probably due to bad keywords. 

  1. Write down your topic.
  2. Identify which of the words you've written can be used as keywords. Hint: pick only ones with meaning directly connected to your topic. Ex. Are safe-injection sites good for Vancouver
  3. Brainstorm synonyms, broader & narrower and related words. Ex. safe-injection sites = Insite, needle exchanges; Vancouver = Lower Mainland, Canada, BC, British Columbia, Fraser Health

 

What kind of resources are you able to use for this assignment?  Where can you find these kinds of resources?

  • academic vs popular
  • primary vs secondary
  • media 
  • reports and data
Loading

Research Tips

Before You Begin - A Checklist

To successfully find information you will need:

  • a well-defined topic
  • a keyword list with at least 3-4 main keywords to use in your search
  • a list of questions to answer or an "information wishlist"
  • an understanding of the kind of items you hope to find (academic? media? reports?)
  • places to search (see below)

Strategy

Example

 Use "quotation marks" for exact-phrase searching
  • "video games"
  • "British Columbia
  • "freedom of the press"
  • "needle exchange"
Search for keywords within specific fields - use the drop-down list beside the search box.
  • Title
  • Abstract
  • Subject
  • Source Title
 Use suggested topics, subjects and thesaurus terms for more refined searching  
 Use the available limiter options (left side of results page)
  • Full text only (excludes books)
  • Peer-reviewed Articles (excludes books)
  • by Date
  • by Format
  • by Subject
  • by Geography
Use narrower keywords
  • video games > first person shooters
  • safe-injection sites > Insite
  • Vancouver > Hastings Street, Downtown Eastside
Check Catalogue Only to find just books, ebooks and media  

Strategy

Example

 Use "or" to look for versions of the same concept (synonyms, related words)
  • child or youth or teen
  • safe-injection or "needle exchange" or Insite
  • Vancouver or BC or "British Columbia" or "Lower Mainland"
  Use * [shift+8] after a word's root to search all endings
  • Canad* = Canada, Canadian, Canadians, Canadiana
  • "video gam*" = video game, video games, video gaming
  Use broader keywords
  • video games < media < entertainment
  • safe-injection < harm reduction policies < drug addiction
Uncheck “available in CapU Collection” in Discovery
If you find an item we don't have, get it via interlibrary loan.
 

 

Video Tutorial - Basic Search in Discovery

Video Tutorial - Finding Books with Discovery

What are Call Numbers?

Photo by Flickr User JenWaller

 

Each library book has a spine label with an alphanumeric call number. The call number is not just the book's "address", it also signifies what the book is about.

Books about similar topics are shelved together. For example:

  • Psychology books start with BF
  • Psychiatry books are in RC 321-571

You've found your book on the shelf. Here is another opportunity to find more books! Take a look at the ones shelved nearby, they may cover similar topics to the book in your hand.

Remember, we may also carry many ebooks on your topic - you'll find those online via keyword or subject search.

Many CapU Library online resources (databases, electronic books) want to authenticate you to ensure you're a CapU student before giving you access. When you try to access these resources off-campus, and occasionally when you are on campus, this screen will appear:

Just enter your CapU Network ID:

username: firstnamelastname
password: CapU password

Forgotten your password?

If you are asked to log in to a page that doesn't have the CapU logo, something has gone wrong. Contact us to help sort it out.

There is no charge to bring in any article or book from outside CapU Library.

Remember to plan ahead - it can take a few days or a few weeks to get your item, depending on availability.

Visit the Interlibrary Loan information page for details.

Did you know you have borrowing privileges at other universities? 
Visit the Library Services counter to get a reciprocal borrowing card and start taking books out from UBC LIbraries, SFU Library and more!

Loading

Librarian Profile

Sabrina Wong
Contact:
LB112A (Library)
604-986-1911 ext.2103